kitchen crisis!!!

I could just cry y’all.

The guys installed the granite countertop today.

And I hate it.

What I wanted was an absolute black countertop with a honed finish.

What these countertops look like is a black countertop that has been walked on by 27 kittens with muddy feet.

You see, we didn’t ever see the slab – they didn’t have any absolute black slabs with a honed finish when we chose our granite, but I have seen examples before – they just looked plain black.  So the granite company ordered it.

And because we were in Iowa, we didn’t ever go out to pensacola to check it out – we didn’t even know till monday that the slab had come in.

Big mistake.

Huge.

Why oh why didn’t I go to look at the slab on monday, before they installed it?

Stay tuned for more breaking kitchen news.

PS: what a middle class sob story, right? Poor me,  my brand new stone countertops aren’t what I wanted…boo hoo hoo. Look, in the scheme of things, countertops are not a big deal, obvs. BUT…countertops are REALLY expensive (to us). We’ve saved a good bit of money to do this kitchen renovation thing. I want to love our new kitchen. Or at least not hate it.

6 Comments

Filed under the house

6 responses to “kitchen crisis!!!

  1. Sarah

    That is a bummer, oh and this post is useless without pictures!

  2. E.

    Oh no! So, so, so sorry you hate your countertop. You must post pictures of it anyway! That way we can either agree with you so you don’t feel so bad for hating it, or we can tell you how fabulous it looks so you can maybe start to like it. 🙂

  3. We had black countertops, plain black, in Dallas. Not a fan, personally, but they weren’t granite or anything, so that probably matters. I am sure anyone else seeing yours will love them! If it’s any consolation. 🙂

  4. Catherine

    Try to exchange it!! Do everything you can and if nothing changes, you WILL grow to love it.

  5. charityfaithrose

    I’m so sorry! I hope things work out soon. And yes, post pics!

  6. Christina

    Not to be a nag or anything, but I’m sitting here catching up on blogs and I just read this and now I’m dying to see how your kitchen turned out. Oh and FWIW, I would LOVE to have black granite counters with kitten pawprints in them… definitely better than the teal corian I have now. ;p But then, the grass is always greener, isn’t it?
    Hope everything is well with you!

Leave a Reply

