365/87

{you don’t say!}

{oh hi mama}

Today is a bittersweet day. My MeMe (my mom’s mom) died this morning. It is truly a blessing – she has been basically unconsious over the last week due to a stroke, and my mom and her brothers have been by her bedside in the hospital, sitting with her, waiting, with no hope of her getting better. She was such a sweet woman – I never heard her raise her voice or get angry. She has had senile dementia for years now, and I believe that sometimes, a process like that can distill a person’s true personality – she only got nicer (me on the other hand – whoohee, my true personality distilled is a scary thought).

It is very strange to me that now I have no living grandparents. I don’t feel old enough to have that be true. I don’t feel like my parents are old enough to not have living parents. Weird.

2 Comments

Filed under life with kids, posts with pics

2 responses to “365/87

  1. Beth

    Thinking about you. Hugs.

  2. So sorry for your loss. I know what you mean about not feeling old enough to have no living grandparents. I wonder if one ever really feels old enough for that? I imagine it is the same when you have no living parents as well. I believe my mother made the comment after her parents both died within a two-year span than we are never to old to feel like orphans.

Leave a Reply

