my home to-do list

I think I may have posted a version of this post in Febuary, but since its changed a bit, I’m posting it again. And since I’m still ahead on the 365 pics so how about a non-pic post for once? Here’s the list:

  • paint the kitchen cabinets – we’ve decided on a distressed white
  • replace the kitchen countertops and sink – i had a dream last night that the plastic part of the countertop just peeled off like contact paper, and that the wood was gorgeous underneath. Ah, dreams
  • replace kitchen appliances
  • convert the dining room into a library??? Ok this is up in the air now. Mike is open to possibly knocking down a wall in the kitchen to open it up to the dining room, and if we do that, the whole space will be den, eating area and kitchen. I still need him to make me some bookshelves though πŸ™‚
  • convert the laundry room into a mud room by removing a wall of cabinets and creating bench seats with storage underneath and a wall of hooks to hang jackets, backpacks, what have you
  • convince mike to cut transom windows above bedroom windows – this? will probalby never happen
  • install crown moulding
  • paint upstairs – consider installing beadboard paneling in playroom
  • replace outdated light fixtures as funding allows
  • refinish a bunch of furniture from my grandfather’s house (which also means getting a bunch of furniture from up there in Mississippi down to Florida)
  • screen in the pool and install a heater so that we can use it longer (this is obviously not a DIY project)
  • paint file cabinets, boys’ dresser, mantle and pew white
  • chalkboard wall? – still considering that

Man, I’m tired just looking at this!

4 Comments

Filed under the house

4 responses to “my home to-do list

  1. Sounds like fun to me! As for the pool, you can get a pool cover (it looks like bubble wrap) that will provide an extra 10-15 degrees for not nearly as much as you will spend on a heater (not to mention the energy!) We love ours.

  2. Holly Kymes

    You have a pool? We looked at a house with a pool but I wasn’t sure about maintenance and fear of drownings. Are you scared of that or am I the only paranoid mom around? πŸ™‚ When you say “screen it in” do you mean it doesn’t have a fence around it? If so, that has to go way up the list, girly! πŸ™‚

    • lauren

      oh holly – my anxiety doesn’t only involve my kids or me getting really sick silly girl! Of course I fear our children drowning! Our yard has a fence around the whole backyard. Then, as soon as we moved in, Mike built a separate fence around just the pool. so the pool is within a fence that is within a fence :). As for maintenence, we have a pool guy who takes care of that stuff. It was worth it to me to keep him coming when we moved in – I was a lifeguard for years, and I know that when pool chemistry gets screwed up, it takes forever to get it right again.

      When we talk about getting the pool screened in, it would make the pool into like a screened in porch or the likes. It would eliminate the need of spf 1000 sunscreen, and keep the bugs and leaves out. But it would shade in the pool, so I’ve heard you pretty much need to have a heater for the pool with it.

      Obviously I can’t watch 4 non-swimmers at once – I figure this summer we’ll use the pool when the little ones are sleeping and when mike or my mom is there. In that respect, a pool at our house works a lot better than a neighborhood pool. We realized that I wouldn’t be able to take all kids to the pool all my myself for years, and if I can’t do it myself, it really isn’t happening around here.

  3. Beth

    Girl, you are brave!!
    I talked to Nora today. Miss you! What are you doing this weekend?

Leave a Reply

