on a lighter note…

…its only 17 days until we move!!!

I have such mixed feelings about moving back to the States (unlike when we moved over here, when I was not excited or happy in any way, shape or form). I am going to miss our friends so much, as well as the closeness of our squadron. I am going to miss our neighborhood, which is full of friends and children for my kids to play with. I am going to miss the base hospital, where everyone knows Emmett. I am going to even miss Addenbrookes, where the pediatric staff, both inpatient and outpatient, welcome us like old friends everytime we show up for an appointment or a surgery.

I will NOT miss the winters here. Or the food. Or the drive to the base. Or the commissary. Or the roads.

I AM excited to return to Florida – we have friends there too! Florida also has the beach! And lots of sushi! And sunshine in the winter! And a house to pick out!

Y’all, I can’t wait to start househunting! For the first time, we are looking for a house that we plan on keeping for a while, not just rent or plan to sell in a couple of years. We have about 15 that we’re looking at online, and I’m hoping that one of those will work out.

Of course, before we get to start househunting, we have to survive the plane flight over the ocean.

Oh, and we still have one of our cats here. Mike took Kodi and Mousa to my parents house in May, but Ernie wouldn’t have done well there long term, and Mike could only take 2 at a time, so now we’re trying to figure out how to get Ernie back to the States without spending an arm and a leg. Stupid Delta Airlines (whom the military has booked our tickets with, because they’re the cheapest way to get to where we’re going) won’t let you take pets in the cabin or as checked baggage from the UK to the States. The estimate for shipping him as cargo – approximately $1100. Have I mentioned that Ernie weighs about 9 pounds? And has been known to occasionally poop and pee in our house? And is scared of the children? So that now he is an almost exclusively outside cat, by his own choice? And that it only cost about $400 altogether to take Mousa (18 pounds) and Kodi (50 pounds) back to America on United Airlines as excess baggage? Ugh. Does anyone in England want a small orange cat with extra toes?

Lets see, what else is going on? Silas is not feeling well – he is really congested, although not running a fever yet. And hopefully he won’t, because of course that would entail a trip to the ER since he’s under 3 months. And bless his heart, he seems a bit miserable with his snuffling and coughing. And a lot miserable when I have to suck goo out of his nose. And Noah and Sawyer are bored crazy, since all of their friends are in school and they have only themselves to play with. Emmett is at the childminders, probably not napping.

Two last things…

  • I ordered a baby blanket for Silas at our bazaar back in early May. I STILL do not have this blanket. This does not please me, and I hate hate hate confrontation, but am I right that this is pretty ridiculous? It has been over 3 MONTHS!
  • Here’s an idea I’m going to throw out there in the hopes that since I’ve put it out to the internets, I’ll have to make it happen somehow: I’m going to try to run a half-marathon in February (assuming thats when Pensacola will have its half-marathon). I need a fitness goal to help me get my patootie in gear and lose 50 pounds of baby weight by next summer. I am so not kidding. 50 pounds. Of course I can’t start training for this until I can go running with no more than 2 kids at a time (and Silas isn’t really old enough to run with yet anyway) since we only have the one double jogging stroller. But that’s the plan. Am I crazy? Or will the running help keep me sane?
5 Comments

Filed under life in england, military life

5 responses to “on a lighter note…

  1. Holly Kymes

    Hey! Is your fitness goal because of next year’s class reunion? Seems to have a bunch of us on a fitness kick! I ran a marathon in 04. If I can do it, you can do it!

  2. Beth

    The running might keep you sane! We have a family with NINE kids down the street from us, and that mom is running ALL THE TIME!! 🙂 I think it’s the only time she gets away from all those kiddos. LOL.

    I think you can do it!

    I’m so excited you’re coming! Call me!!! Do you need a place to stay??? Do you need any help with any houses? I hope you’re looking in Navarre and not Gulf Breeze….but that’s for my own selfish reasons. Sorry! 🙂 xoxox

  3. Jennifer

    Only have a minute, but wanted to say that Baby Jogger makes an awesome triple jogger that is worth every penny.

    Just sayin’.

  4. so VERY exciting. a fresh start. hopefully a fresh outlook on life with some VERY happy times ahead 🙂 you sure do deserve it!

    good luck with the house hunting! it can be exciting and daughting at the same time!

    almost only 2 weeks away!

  5. Ashley

    I will soooo run with you. I ran a 1/2 marathon in Seaside in March, it was great!!! I will check to see when the Pensacola one is and let you know! We can train together. Can’t wait to see you all, and let me know if there is anything I can do on this end!

Leave a Reply

