5 hours…

…is about the amount of time it took for emmett to realize that his Berd was gone. mike took her to the airport saturday morning, and by lunchtime, things were not pretty.

yesterday he cheered up while attending a friend’s birthday party (emmett remains a social butterfly/party animal), but his happiness was short-lived…

because today is Monday, which meant that mike went to work, which meant that i was alone with all four kids for the whole day for the first time.

it was a Long Day. a Long Day filled with the tears of my children (except for noah. noah was an angel).

and nobody cried more than emmett, as he slowly came to the realization that he was stuck once again with his (horror of horrors!) mother.

8 Comments

Filed under life with kids

8 responses to “5 hours…

  1. That just breaks my heart. 😦

  2. Mom

    I miss all of you too. It’s just too quiet over here. I’m really, really, really, really glad I could be there for you and the boys. Do I sound like someone? Came home to a broken washing machine. So much fun getting it fixed, but not until tomorrow do I commence to washing.
    My packages arrived today. Only a picture frame was broken. Well, you made it through today.
    It probably won’t be easy but know that I’m thinking of you and wishing I could have helped more. Love to Mike and the boys.

    Love

    Mom

  3. Beth

    Awwwwww……Lauren, I’m so sorry Emmett gave you a hard time. I guess you could look at it this way….he bonded with someone. That’s a good thing. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you made it through your first day. It’s really sweet that he loved Berd so much.

    Not much longer and you’ll be leaving for the States. Is Noah in school anymore?

    Is there anything I can do over here to help out?

  4. (((Hugs)))! I had the same thought as Beth — at least he bonded with someone, so you know he can, and that’s a good thing.

  5. nora

    I have to agree with everyone else-attachment is good, although to you or your wonderful hubby would be better πŸ™‚ Congrats on making it through the day. I am so proud of you and Noah too! Aren’t they getting too old for their own good? Grace is already coming home off the bus talking about “secret boyfriends” Huh??? Isn’t she still just barely 5…

  6. Beth

    Nora, Logan “doesn’t like school…it’s so, so, so, sooooooooo long”…..Seriously? I’ve never heard him say this stuff! Kindergarten has made him so imaginative!! πŸ™‚

    Lauren, I hope things are okay! xoxoxox

  7. Christina

    I’m just catching up on your blog… so glad Emmett’s last surgery went well. Now that his physical issues have (mostly) been dealt with maybe it will be easier to make progress on the emotional/developmental issues? Is there anyone there (or at your next assignment) who might have some expertise in adoption and/or developmental issues? I just can’t imagine trying to deal with all of that on your own.

    Keeping you all in my prayers.

  8. Jessica

    I had the same thought as Christina, that perhaps now would be the time to move forward and address Emmett’s other issues- including the attachment/bonding challenges with you and his father. Surely you and dh are grieving hard about Emmett’s significant and pervasive difficulties- this is a natural process for parents of special needs children. The birth of another child so soon after Emmett’s arrival, while obviously offering certain joy, also poses its own set of challenges in your journey with Emmett. There could be benefits in finding resources in your area to help guide you in a very difficult process.

Leave a Reply

