a perfect night…

…is a date with my husband, where we go to Cambridge to get sushi, sit outside to dine and don’t get rained on, then take a leisurely stroll to the bookstore. Then we come home, eat a little sherbet and chat with my mom, check on our sleeping children, and fall asleep in each other’s arms, watching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

Thanks babe (and Mom, for putting the angels to bed – I think at least 2 of them were crying when we left). I love you, and can’t wait to welcome our new child into the world with you!

Speaking of this new child, however…I am having baby-naming anxiety and doubts. We decided on Moses months ago, we’ve been calling him that, and yet…I just don’t know.

I’ve never been in this situation before, where I wasn’t absolutely sure of the name going into the hospital. Please help! I still love Jasper (Mike still really doesn’t), I really like Abram (again with Mike not), I like Abel and Silas(again, Mike doesn’t). Robert will be the middle name for sure. If I had to guess, Mike’s favorite would be Moses or Miles (I really don’t like Miles that much), or his old fallback, Stephen (just like all the other boys, it will not be Stephen, although there is absolutely nothing wrong with that name, of course).

Just to refresh, our last name starts with an H, is one syllable, and the other boys’ names are:

Noah Gerrit

Sawyer Hodges

Emmett Hoang

Think y’all, think! We’ve only got 3 days here!

7 Comments

Filed under life in england, the baby

7 responses to “a perfect night…

  1. Jeannie

    My first choice is 100% Miles. I had a student named Miles a few years ago and he is one of my all-time favorite kids ever. And I just love that name. I also love the name Silas. I know you already have the S name, but I don’t think that matters.

    I know many families who have names in mind but then wait until the baby is born to decide. Maybe he’ll tell you his name when you meet him? 🙂

    I can’t believe you are about to deliver!! That is so exciting and just crazy. Now I will have two kids to meet!

    Love you guys and I will, as always, be thinking of you.

  2. psy

    I love names. The names you like have a soft sound and are off the beaten path… Here are some more names in that style to rule in or out while you obsess. You will of course wind up thinking whatever name you choose is just right for your little guy.

    Everett
    Willem
    Graham
    Callum
    Seamus
    Jett
    Javier/Xavier
    Curren
    Gabriel
    Ezra
    Elias
    Donovan
    Abbott
    Nolan
    Quinn/Quincy
    Griffin
    Oscar
    Walker/Walter

  3. Sounds like it was a perfect night. I’m no help with the names since you already know what my vote is. I never thought too much about boy names. When we decided to adopt two boys we pretty much immediately knew we’d name them after our grandfathers, and so that was that. See? Not creative at all.

  4. We were going to name our 1st Ethan James, but it was an Elizabeth Suzanne. When I was pg with #2, I assumed we would stick with Ethan, but one day, my husband came home and said Abram James. I wasn’t too sure at first, but after a couple of days, I was in love! He is a JOY!! We wanted something different, but not strange. We love it! We did have our Ethan James though. We lost a baby last May and that was what we named him. #3 is Jacob VanHa from Lang Son, VN.

  5. DANG IT MIKE, just get onboard with Jasper and make this a no-brainer!!! WOW – I am LOVING PSY’s suggestions…a few of my fave boys’ names are on that list!

  6. I love Jasper. But another suggestion is Jace, Zander, or Zane. I can’t wait to see what the baby’s name ends up to be.

  7. Beth

    My number one vote is with Jeannie. I LOVE Miles. I had a student with that name…Myles Thomas, and he was such a sweet, laid back kid. Love the name.

    PSY, I love the name Griffin…named my second son that!!

    My second fav name on your list, Lauren, would be Jasper. It really is cute. I can’t imagine you naming a kid Stephen, so I know that’s not it!

    I really don’t like Silas. Or Abel. I’m with Mike on those.

    I can’t wait to see pictures of this kiddo!!!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

