its getting pretty sad when…

…I have to type in my user name and password every time I go to blog, because my remember me thing has timed out.

I am a terrible blogger. Sorry. As an excuse, I’ll tell you about an average day in the life of Lauren this summer:

  • wake up around 8ish, after being awake multiple times during the night for trying-to-get-comfortable purposes and trips to the bathroom and trips to the medicine drawer for antacids
  • lay in bed for a bit after waking, wondering if that headache is due to sinus trouble or pre-eclampsia
  • lumber out of bed and get ready for the day, admiring the fact that although my face looks super puffy to me, I can see actual bones in my feet – something that won’t happen for the rest of the day
  • after eating breakfast, make my way to the doctor’s appointment of the day, which might be for me, Noah, Sawyer, or Emmett. As my mom has remarked, she doesn’t think she’s been here a weekday so far when I haven’t either been working at the vet clinic or at the doctor. And I only work 1 to 2 days a week.
  • catch lunch at the base, then make it home, picking up Noah from school if the timing is right, or coming home to crash on the couch for a few hours if I get home early (and then my mom will go to pick him up)
  • dinner with the fam, put the kids to bed, then a little tv (Wimbelton these past 2 weeks), and then bed

Notice that I’m not mentioning getting the kids dressed for the day, taking Noah to school, fixing dinner, feeding Emmett, or getting up at night with him. Or washing and folding clothes most of the time. These are all tasks that my mom and Mike are pretty much taking care of. Bless them. Bless them, bless them, bless them!

Because honestly? I could not be doing all that stuff right now. I was telling Mike that I felt like the beached pilot whales that we were reading about at Sawyer’s audiology appointment today. He then informed me that I wasn’t like those beached whales, because eventually, with great effort, I can get myself up from the bed, or the couch, or what-have-you, that I more reminded him of the killer whales, when they launch themselves onto the ice to get the sea lions, and then have to wiggle-waddle themselves back into the water. Ummm, thanks babe.

5 Comments

Filed under health issues, life in england, life with kids, the baby

5 responses to “its getting pretty sad when…

  1. At least he’s trying to be optimistic! But yeah, not really a compliment. When I was pregnant with A.J. in the hot and miserable Missouri summer, I kept the Tums under my pillow, so there was no need to wake up for those, at least. You’ll make it. You’re almost there!

  2. charityfaithrose

    ahhh, if you need anything let us know!

  3. Beth

    You’re almost there, girl! Thanks for the blog. I worry when I don’t hear from you. Just keep us updated as much as you can. Miss you!

    Any updates on the move?

  4. your life just exhausts me. take advantage of your help and GET SOME REST!!!

    ((HUGS))

  5. Nora

    You are soo cute. I remember the beached whale days. The last few weeks are terrible, aren’t they? I always thought that the cruelest irony was everyone telling you to get some rest, sleep while you can. But you really can’t rest comfortably. Sleeping even wears you out…it is like one loooong uncomfortable plane ride every night. Newborns let you sleep more than pregnancy does. Like Beth, I am super excited to have you heading our general direction I will be planning a trip as soon as I know your plans. Miss you much and sending you wonderfully easy labour vibes…

Leave a Reply

