a few words about friendship

From the moment that we found out that we were moving to England, I was positive that I would be totally miserable here. I wouldn’t ever be able to find a group of friends like I have from Florida, a group of friends like I have from high school/college. You know, there’s no guarantee that you will find a tight group of friends in every single place that you live.

And for a long time, I only had Sarah (what a drag for her! to have to put up with my craziness all by herself!). I am not the fastest friend-maker.

But now…now I have a FANTASTIC close group of friends again. 3 of whom threw me a FANTASTIC baby shower yesterday. At which more of my friends attended and gave me baby Moses some FANTASTIC presents. It was awesome, and at the same time sad…because in a few short months we’ll be leaving again.

But having these great groups of friends gives me hope that wherever the military decides to send us, maybe the same miracle will happen – a select few fabulous ladies will take pity on me and be my friends.

Thank you Margaret, Hang and Charity, for a wonderful event. Thank you everyone who reads who came too!!! And lets all say a prayer for Sarah and Jessica and  Hang this week as it will be BAZAAR TIME in a few short days!

Oh, and if you are already praying for them, will you also pray for Noah? I don’t want to get into it all really, but he will be seeing the pediatric neurologist in Cambridge soon for some recent problems, and I (of course) am totally freaking out. Mike and I are prepared to handle just about anything when it comes to Emmett, but I feel physically sick thinking about something serious being wrong with one of the others as well. Please pray that he is fine, that the things we’re seeing are within the range of normal, and please pray for my trust in God’s plan for our family. My current issues with my Faith are for another post, but suffice it to say that I’m struggling right now, and it doesn’t even have anything to do with Emmett’s problems.

8 Comments

Filed under general living, life with kids, the baby

8 responses to “a few words about friendship

  1. nora

    Wish I could have been there for your shower…You look great in the pictures, as do all the boys. You have such a beautiful family, inside and out. I hope things go well with Noah. I am thinking of you guys.

  2. Sarah

    Aaah! I love your craziness!! It makes me feel not alone in the world.

  3. Jeannie

    I wish I could have been there for your shower too! I’m so glad you had fun and got some good stuff 🙂

    You guys as always are in my thoughts. Please report back on Noah as soon as you can.

  4. Beth

    I’m so happy you had a shower for baby Moses. And I’m so happy that you found a group of friends there that are wonderful. I know how hard it is to do that. You are a part of my group of best friends. 🙂 I know it’s going to be hard to leave your friends. Just know that you’ve got a few left here that can’t wait to see you!

    I’ll keep Noah in my prayers. Send me your number….I have a calling card!

  5. I am sure your big boy will be okay. 🙂 Hugs! I am thrilled you got to have a shower. Not everyone has super friends to give showers for baby #4. Awesome! Wish all of us stateside could have been there.

  6. charityfaithrose

    Okay, first off – we ARE NOT pity friends!!!! And umm, we are all probably equally insane! And please, please let us know if you need ANYTHING!!!! (okay, so this is my night for capitals and exclamations! – sorry had to do just one more!) 🙂

  7. Hi, Lauren, I’ve never posted before, but found you through Elaine a few months ago. I have loved following your story, and even though it’s hard, I see a lot of faith in you, even in your frustration. We’ve had a lot of medical mysteries lately, too, several just this month! Both of our boys (7 1/2 and 4) have now, or will soon see a pediatric neurologist. I hope you find the answers you need. I think no answers is harder to deal with than a not-so-great answer, since at least you know what to do about it. Hopefully, all will be fine with Noah. I will add your family to our prayers.

    p.s. can I have the password so I can keep following your story? And, I think Moses Robert is a great name.

  8. Mom

    Password please

Leave a Reply

