yuck – don’t read if you don’t want to know about the state of Emmett’s package

Emmett was able to come home last night – hurrah! So thank you so much for all your prayers. However…

I didn’t really take a look at his unmentionables after the surgery, before I went home. My first glimpse was last night, as I was attempting to change his diapers.

Y’all – I can’t even explain how terrible it looks. His willy is about 3 times its normal size, and purple, with a plastic tube sticking out of it.

So please keep praying – we’d like for him to get back to normal as soon as possible.

On the positive side, as long as we keep on giving him the painkillers (tylenol and motrin, alternating) and bladder spasm meds, he seems totally comfortable. Of course, he can’t see what things look like down there. Its a good thing. I cannot imagine this surgery taking place on a developmentally normal child who is much older than Emmett (yet I know it does all the time). The trauma!

The other upside is that the nurse I called this morning from the surgical team when even Mike was worried about the state of things below said that this swelling and bruising is totally normal, and nothing to be alarmed about.

I wonder what his privates would have to look like for the docs to be alarmed? Please Jesus, don’t let us find out.

4 Comments

Filed under health issues

4 responses to “yuck – don’t read if you don’t want to know about the state of Emmett’s package

  1. Christina

    Yikes. Poor Emmett!! And a bit of pity too for his dad and brothers who will have that image imprinted in their minds for all time… 😉

  2. Beth

    Poor little guy.

  3. I have friends whose kids have needed the same surgery and it does heal really fast but looks really awful at first!!! It sounds normal but would still be really shocking. I’m glad he’s not in any pain! I would NOT want to be changing diapers right now! I’d be so afraid of hurting him!

  4. Jeannie

    Yikes! I’m just glad he’s not in too much pain and can’t see it, like you said.

    Did the boys ask to see it?

Leave a Reply

