A happy baby

Just before we left the hospital yesterday, Emmett and I saw the community liaison nurse who met us after our first surgery.  It made me think of how much has happenned since then and how we have changed our outlook since then.  E has been with us now for a little more than 6 months, longer than he lived in the orphanage.  Since he came home with us he has had 4 separate surgeries which add up to a little less than a month of hospitalization. 

He will still need one more surgery on his privates, but the one just accomplished should help keep him from getting another bladder/kidney infection.  With that said, it seems like most of his physical issues are settling down, which brings us to the developmental stuff.

We still have no news on the genetic testing front.  The developmental pediatrician is not pleased with his developmental changes.  Here is a rundown of what he has learned in the last 6 months:

Roll over (in one direction he only goes halfway and back)

Put his hands together

Make eye contact

Laughs and smiles

Blow raspberries

Refuse food

He’s working on sitting, slowly but surely.  That’s going to take a setback with this surgery, but I think it will happen eventually.  We still have hope that he won’t be stuck as a 6 month old baby for the rest of his life, but it is always in the back of our minds because he has developed so little.  I have decided that I am not going to base my future happiness on whether or not he achieves this or that developmental milestone.  I still have hopes and dreams for Emmett, just like I do for all my boys, but I feel like my realistic expectation has gone way down.

Which brings me to this.  He is a much happier baby since he got his PEG tube put in.  He seems to have a better time with his brothers and enjoys being in public.  Hopefully he gets to the point of being able to communicate with us at some point, but for now, a smile is very nice.

6 Comments

Filed under adoption, health issues

6 responses to “A happy baby

  1. Beth

    Emmett has been through a lot in the past six months. Changes will probably be subtle. I’m so happy to hear that he’s doing better. I can’t wait to meet him!

    Your outlook is uplifting. 🙂

  2. I’m so glad to hear he’s much happier. I would think all that time being uncomfortable and recovering surgery would really delay his development, no? I mean, hard to learn stuff when you’re trying to just cope day by day, are sedated, have tubes coming out of everywhere, have pain . . . I know I wouldn’t be in the mood to roll over much. 🙂

  3. Sally

    It seems like you are making progress! That is really great! I think your idea is good to let him develop at his own pace for now and not to worry too much about the developmental milestones. To gauge the speed of his development and make realistic expectations for him could take a few years, I think, considering what he has been through. It will be great to be finished with the medical concerns and I bet he will start to develop more rapidly once his heath is good.

  4. Hey! I am thrilled with his progress. I read a caringbridge for Lauren Wentz who was brain-injured at a few months old. She’s 16 months now and has just started doing those things. He’s way ahead of the game! And Mallory NEVER could blow those stupid rasberries! As for communicating, have you tried signing? Mally knows about 10 I think. “Eat” and “drink” might not do him much good, but some of the others could be good. (mom, dad, brother, nite-nite, sit, etc.) Just an idea! 🙂

    I am sure he will be sitting and crawling in no time.

  5. I am glad he seems to be feeling better. Who knows he may surprise you. Now that the physical side of things are stabilizing he can focus on the developmental. I know you can’t compare kiddos but know that J did not sit on his own until he was 18 months old. He is now running around like a mad man. Don’t set yourself up for disappointment but also don’t underestimate E. It seems to be something I do all the time. 😦

  6. Britta

    Oh guys I am sooo glad to hear he is actually smiling and somewhat happy. I know you have a long way to go but my visions were still of him screaming incosolently 24/7 and you crying right along with him- it is great news to hear that he is out of the hospital and somewhat happy some of the time. He is doing great especially with all he has had to deal with. Hang in there and keep us updated!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

