a new attitude

Thanks so much y’all for playing the name game – again, I could probably have this discussion every day from now till the little man is born. But thankfully (for you), I’ll force myself to come up with different drivel to write about. What I will do is periodically update the name condenters list from time to time, so feel free to continue commenting :).

The condenders right now are as follows:

  • Jasper (my #1 pick)
  • Miles (mike’s #1 pick)
  • Milo
  • Watson
  • Fletcher
  • Abel

So, moving on to other things…I’ve decided to maybe take the blog in a little bit of a different direction. You see, I’ve been reading nienie dialogues lately, and also cjane enjoy it. Have y’all read these blogs? They are fabulous. And they’ve inspired me to try to celebrate more the parts of my life that I love, and focus less on the screwed up parts.

Because there are so many things in my life that I love – my husband, my kids, my family, my friends, being able to stay home and raise my children, the days that all of my children are in school or at the childminders :), etc.

And since we got this fancy shmancy camera for Christmas, I’m really going to try to incorporate more pictures…as soon as I figure out how to use the camera.

I’ll still keep y’all up to date about Emmett’s doing’s: for example, after about a week of really good days, Emmett has had a rough weekend – lots of retching, lots of crying, waking up at night. My best guess is that its the formula – our doc had wanted us to switch to an American formula, and I just think that its not agreeing with him – we’ll be back to our British formula tomorrow to see if that makes a difference.

But in the interest of making the blog not only about Emmett, here’s what else we’ve been up to:

  • I declare Sawyer to be POTTY- TRAINED! Which leaves us with only one child in diapers (for a few months). Yipee!
  • Mike is home from his trip – again, yipee! And his birthday is on Wednesday – what on earth do y’all get your husbands, because I am at a complete loss. The best he can come up with is a silicone spatula. Poor Mike.
  • Star Wars continues to be the hot topic around these parts – its all our little Luke Skywalker thinks about
  • As for Noah, we are going through a “boring” phase – apparently EVERYTHING in his life is boooringgg. But a friend with older children suggested a solution the other day – whenever he says he’s bored, put that kid to work. I can’t wait to try this out! I must say, when he’s not bored, he continues to be the sweetest, best big brother ever.
  • Baby cannonball is doing fine – I can finally feel him moving, which is my hands-down favorite part of being pregnant (ummm, except for the baby at the end of course)
9 Comments

Filed under general living, the baby

9 responses to “a new attitude

  1. Milo is my very favorite! My bff was going to name her son Milo but they settled on Miles with the intention of calling him Milo as a nickname but never did it. I like Miles too but I LOVE Milo 🙂

    Ok I feel your pain on the husband front. My husband only currently wants a silicone spatula too! Isn’t that soooo sad?!?!

    As for Noah, Addy started the “This show is too boring” bit the other day and I almost fell off my chair. I feel your pain, big time!

    Yay for cannonball!!! 🙂

  2. Ah for the day when Mally is potty-trained. It must be fabulous. 🙂 She’s mostly just into playing in the toilet water at the moment…not actually USING a toilet. ;P

  3. Beth

    I think Miles Jasper has a nice ring to it. 🙂 I also like it spelled Myles.
    Fletcher is my second fave.

    Good luck on the b-day present thing. I have no clue what to get him! It’s nearly impossible to get Steve anything.

    SO glad to hear Sawyer is potty trained. WOOOO HOOOOO!!!!

    Love ya!

  4. Jeannie

    Husbands are indeed hard to buy for. We normally don’t do bday presents; instead, we go out to a nice dinner or I cook one of his favorites at home.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the name Miles (and love the spelling Myles, too). Jasper is a great name for a baby, but I’m trying to imagine calling an adult that. I love it though because it’s unique.

    I’m glad to hear Emmett improved and hope he gets back to that soon.

    Love and miss you big time!

  5. I vote for Fletcher. Very cool name! I like Milo, too. Do you have one of those cooking husbands, too? Where are you blogging women finding these men who cook? Or is there another reason why he’d want a silicone spatula?

  6. I love all of the names – they’re all different without being strange, ya know? My faves are Jasper and Milo. Love the blogs you mentioned – they are beautifully written and so inspiring. Can’t wait to see the pics w/your fancy camera!!

  7. Britta

    Ok so I am sooo out of control- I went through the MOther of NAmes Book- here are ten million…. if there is an (E) it is English in origin: Ackley/Akely (E), Allister (E-defender of mankind), Bodie, Braden(E), Brantley(E), Brigham(E), Britton, Brydon, Caelon, Cannon, Cavan, Chester-Chet(E), Clayton(E), Colton(E), Daelen(E), Dexter(E), Farley(E),Finian(call him Fin), Gibson(E), Grady, Grantley(E), Hallan(E), Harley(E), Jasper(E), Kedrisk(E), Kendall(E), Kirby(E), Kyler(E), Landon(E), Leland(E), Maxwell(E), Mitchell(E), Paxton, Quinley(Quin), Randall(E), Remington/Remi(E), Rylan(E), Talen(E), Trenton, Treyton(E), Tristen, Wallace(E), Wesley(E), Weston(E), William(E), Winston(E) Xavier…. I tried to hard to find English names that fit your criteria I am glad to hear things appear to be leveling out some. Jensen is trying to potty train himself. On our carride home from Dallas yesterday he said we needed to pull over so he could pee. He is pants around the ankles and concentrating and he tells me to go get in the car, he needs privacy please. I tell him I can’t do that and then he says, “Mommy the wind is blowing my boy”

  8. Beth

    Oooooo… I had Gibson on my list. Still like that one. I love Harley too! Rylan is cool.

  9. nora

    Good for you Lauren to take the blog in a new direction-but hey, feel free to vent and rave whenever you want to. We can take it! It makes me take stock in the good parts of my life when I can hear others hardships and celebrations both. Soooo just do whatever makes your day the best…K?
    I for one think Mike probably needs a boys day out for his b-day. You know-take the boys fishing or something-look at big trucks or whatever it is boys like to do…then he can use his spatula to help make cookies when he gets back. 🙂 I think you know exactly what Mike wants for his b-day Lauren…
    So now that you are only buying diapers for one child you have like an extra 30$ a month!! What in the world will you spend it on? Oh-did I hear you say something for Lauren? Really? What a great idea! Let us know what you get this month.
    The names are all great but I prefer Jasper over Miles. One of those-that kid from school named Miles for me..no other reason.
    So-I have been missing you a lot lately. The move thing really is a challenge huh? I am so lucky to have had such amazing friends through my journeys as a mommy.

Leave a Reply

