Our weekend

Mike and I just got back from a fabulous weekend in London. BY OURSELVES. CHILDLESS. We went down yesterday afternoon, picked up some souveniors from Harrods (since I will never bring one of my children in there ever again thanks to last summer’s debacle), ate sushi – nothing raw for me – and went to see The Sound of Music. Then we spent the night at a quaint hotel in the West End, breakfasted there, and headed home. It was awesome.

We also didn’t have the kids on Friday night. We dined on some of my friend Margaret’s wonderful stuffed shells, and watch Mamma Mia (on DVD)…its just been a musical kind of weekend, usually we’re not really into musicals. So we should have made an early start of it on Saturday, but ummm, were delayed…by me (note to self: call OB on Monday to be prescribed anti-depressants. The time for no medication has passed long ago). I think Mike was okay with it (not with the crying spell, but with the late start) because I had intended us to go to Portobello Road to look for antiques :).

Anyway, I just want to say a huge thanks to Mike for a wonderful weekend, and an even huger thanks to our friends Sarah and Pete, who took the kids for the ENTIRE WEEKEND. That would be our 3 added to their 3, making the total 6 kids. Bless them, if they weren’t insane already, they surely are now.

We have the greatest friends.

9 Comments

Filed under life in england

9 responses to “Our weekend

  1. Britta

    Thank you thank you Sarah & Pete! I know Lauren needed that so muc *you too Mike). I have heard you can take Wellbutrin while pregnant and nursing…. it’s good stuff- and has a side effect of taking acfeine so you aren’t as damn tired on less sleep! Check into it. SO the appt went well on friday? So glad! I haven’t been with out kids over night in I don’t know how long- how nice! You so deserved it! Miss you!

  2. Beth

    So glad to hear you got a weekend to yourself. I hope that it helped recharge your batteries. I have a girfriend who is on wellbutrin and is pregnant. Has had no problems. Is due in March.
    Thanks Sarah and Pete for taking care of my girl! πŸ™‚

  3. A child-free weekend sounds wonderful and I only have one kid!! Glad you were able to enjoy it. Mostly. πŸ˜‰ Here’s to a good week for everyone.

  4. Jennifer

    Yeah!! I am so glad you two had a couple of child free nights to relax and enjoy time together.

    There are definitely anti-depressant options for pregnancy and breastfeeding, so don’t wait to call your OB.

  5. TX Cajun

    What a great weekend. I know it was nice to get away.

    Christy

  6. Jenna

    Good to hear!!

  7. nora

    That sounded like such a nice break. I tend to have crying jags even when my kids aren’t there…maybe the guilt has more time to settle in without the distractions-more time to feel sorry for all sorts of things. And ummmm you are pregnant-you get to cry for no reason for about 2 more years. Not that I don’t think you need drugs πŸ™‚

  8. So glad you got away. Didn’t comment on your last post, but I wanted to say…your feelings are just so understandable and noone could imagine what this is like for you. The one thing I believe though, is that God must have really really wanted Emmett in your family. You have what it takes to do this, even when it seems too hard and too overwhelming and not fair.

    And when you do come back this way, if it is to Jax (your dh is in the Navy right? I know he is a pilot…) anyway…if you did end up here, there is great medical care, and it is a very nice city to live in. In the meantime I hope the ob visit was productive!

  9. you do have the greatest friends! i am so glad you had a chance to get out and have sometime for your selves…you deserve it, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

