quick (but not really) update

Mike and I have now made the switch – he’s at the hospital and I’m at home with O and Y…and I am so tired, so this will be short.

After hours and hours of waiting on the doctor’s to look at Emmett’s x-ray from this morning, they decided to pull his other chest tube. He still has a pneumothorax, and still has the pleural effusion. But the pneumothorax is smaller and that’s the side that the tube is on – its not helping the effusion, which is on the other side.

The x-ray following his chest tube removal showed effusion, according to Mike. They didn’t specify which side it was on, so we don’t know if its new or not. He’ll have yet another x-ray tomorrow.

For right now, he’s still on IV antibiotics (more on that below), still has the central line, is still on oxygen. I’m hoping that central line can come out tomorrow, because that is one of the places that infection can enter, and I personally saw him vomit several times where the line goes into his neck today. I’m not convinced its a real sterile area.

It is a really good thing that Mike is there now, because I was rapidly losing patience with the inefficiency of the hospital. Case in point: today I yelled (and not even semi) at one of the residents. Emmett gets amikacin every night – its an antibiotic that is only given once daily. However, before he gets it, he has to have his kidney enzymes checked. So he had blood pulled at 10 last night. His antibiotic was supposed to be given at midnight. This morning the night nurse told the day nurse during handover that he didn’t get the antibiotic, because the lab never posted his bloodwork results (although the tests had been done). So I asked several times throughout the morning, and Mike asked once too, in vain, if they had those results yet, so that Emmett could get his antibiotic (especially because he was running a fever again this morning, about which they tell us not to worry, because he’s getting antibiotics, exceot that he’s actually not getting them, is he?). Finally, at about 1 this afternoon, I found the resident who was supposed to be tracking the bloodwork down, and asked him what the results were. He said that someone would get back to me about it. I asked when exactly that might be, since my son has now been waiting 13 hours for this antibiotic. He said that they were pretty busy. I told him he didn’t look busy enough to be running 13 HOURS behind schedule.

Needless to say, I think the hospital is glad to see me go for a couple of days. And I shouldn’t have yelled, but dammit, that sort of stuff is NOT ACCEPTABLE. Not for my son or anyone else’s. And I must say, within 20 minutes of my tantrum, Emmett was getting his frappin antibiotics. Finally.

Alright, sorry for the not-so-short update. I am off to bed.

10 Comments

Filed under health issues

10 responses to “quick (but not really) update

  1. Britta

    Go you! Sometimes you need to rattle their cage- it seems to be in my experience that as I wait patiently nothing happens…. as soon as I lose it with them (anyone- no one in particular), something starts happening. Our children deserve better than the care they receive in those hospitals and their best advocate is us! I can’t believe the substandard care that seems to be universal through out even the best hospitals these days. Get some rest! You are doing a great job… you haven’t said anything about the baby… how are you feeling?

  2. Good for you! I can’t believe they would wait 13 hours!!!!! Seriously, good for you.

  3. Beth

    Hope you get some much needed rest. Hang in there. You did the right thing with staying on top of the doctors and yelling if you have to! You are Emmett’s only advocate. Some people would be too afraid to say something….keep it up! 🙂

  4. Charity

    You did the right thing! I can not believe that they made him wait that long.
    Get some rest and let us know if we can do anything. Seriously.

  5. You and Mike are your son’s only advocates. I understand the drs. and nurses can be overworked, but that is unacceptable and you absolutely did the right thing. I am praying he will be out of there ASAP and you won’t have to deal with them anymore!

  6. Jennifer

    Sometimes, it really is true that the squeaky wheel gets the grease. Isn’t that how that silly saying goes? You absolutely did the right thing being the “squeaky wheel”. It *might* be one thing if he was showing zero signs of infection…but that’s not the case. So his antibiotics need to be ON TIME, EVERY TIME. The end. With him running a fever, that’s just how it has to be.

    Hopefully the rest of his stay will be short and sweet. Hang in there.

  7. ugh…you go ahead and yell. they deserve it! isn’t it amazing how fast they can move when they really have to. it should not have taken you yelling to get that taken care of.

    end of rant.

    praying that today was a better day and that you had a little break spending some time with the boys

  8. Ok, this I know from experience…hospitals are filled with so many divisions of labor that it’s easy to pass the buck. The resident puts his orders in, and there can be a TOTAL disconnect with what the patient actually receives. But to the resident, he did his job, and to the nurse, she filled her duty in waiting to give the antibiotics. Sometimes if you don’t KICK AND SCREAM, no one is held accountable and patients fall through the cracks. It happens all the time. You are making sure that doesn’t happen to your kid by being advocates for him! GOOD FOR YOU GUYS!! I would do the same. And I’d be breathing down every doctor’s neck if I felt they were pushing me off too.

  9. cherie

    Lauren
    You handled it alot better than i would have, i would probably would have hit someone:-) Keep on top of them and let us know if you need any help……

  10. You DO have to yell and I’m glad you did. Shannon said you’re your son’s only advocates, and that’s true … I think of my obligation of “zealous advocacy” when it comes to my legal career; it certainly translates to using the health care system, too.

Leave a Reply

