we should really do the updates AFTER rounds

So Emmett’s pneumothorax is still there (that would be on the left side of his chest) and he has developed a little pleural effusion on the right side. The doctors also feel as though his liver is little more enlarged than it was.

When I asked them if the pleural effusion and liver enlargement meant that he was in right-sided heart failure, they said umm, yes, we think maybe he is. But before you freak out, they also said that this is not normal, but also not totally unusual following a tetrology of fallot repair.

The doctors this morning increased his diurectics to try to remove some of the excess fluid, increased the suction from his chest tube, cut down on some of his morphine, and were about to start him on digoxin, a heart drug.

Not a great start to the day. And then Mike left.

BUT…when I got back from Mike leaving, Dr. Yates (his cardiologist here) was giving him an echo (ultrasound of his heart) and he thinks the right side of his heart actually might look a little better than before surgery. He said no to the digoxin, and is hoping the chest tube might come out tomorrow. He said that Emmett is still moving in the right direction, which made me feel a lot better – a heck of a lot better than hearing that he’s in heart failure.

As for Emmett, he apparently had a rough night, which involved lots of morphine boluses, on top of other painkillers and sedatives, but today he has been sleeping ALL. DAY. LONG. Just like yesterday. The peacefulness is nice, but starting to freak me out a little. But I’d still rather him be sleeping than in pain without us really being able to make him feel better.

Sarah, if you’re reading this, I finished the Guernsey (sp?) Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society Book – you were right, it was really good. Unfortunately, it was my very last thing to read. What am I going to do for the rest of the night?

6 Comments

Filed under health issues

6 responses to “we should really do the updates AFTER rounds

  1. Beth

    Yeah, I was a little freaked at first when you mentioned heart failure….but I’m glad the doctor clarified some things for you.

    I know it must be hard to see him asleep for so long, but you’re right. It’s better than seeing him in pain and not be able to help. Sorry that Mike left. Hopefully he’s back soon??

    Hang in there! Keep the updates coming….we’re all wondering what’s going on.

    xoxoxo

  2. Jeannie

    Lauren, I don’t know how you are doing it girl, but you are. I am glad to hear some positive news, but the other stuff is really scary. I wish I could be there to keep you company and bring you food and hugs. My heart breaks for you but at the same time I know that you guys are all going to make it through this. I really appreciate you giving us updates. As soon as you can, give E kisses from me and tell him I can’t wait to meet him. Tell him he has a heavy load for sure, but he has the best Momma in the world. I love you!

  3. Daryl and Alyda

    Thanks Lauren, for filling us in! Our prayers continue for peace and strength and continued healing! Love and hugs to all!

  4. holly

    Lauren,
    I am out of town and just got your blog link. I have been keeping up through Jennifer. I am glad to hear he’s come through the surgery. Any guesses on when you all will get to go home? Love and hugs,
    Holly

  5. Beth P

    Hey Mike and Lauren! Sarah just sent me the link to the blog. I had no idea what you had been dealing with over the past few days. The blog is great! First congratulations on your wonderful news from before the surgery. God sure does choose to surprise us in the midst of the difficulties! We are here for you!!! Let us know how to help, because it is hard sitting on the sidelines when someone you care about is dealing with so much! Continuing in prayer!

  6. Still praying, glad the dr. is positive. Are you an any TOF groups or anything? I am sure there are forums and you could possibly find another child who followed a similar course? I hope you find something else good to read, will keep you all in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

