the surprise

As I said before Christmas, we are so thankful for the surprises God sends our way.

Of course, along with thankful, we are scared, too. But I figure that God will work it out. I don’t know how, its a mystery, but I do know I feel very blessed to be in this situation right now (and I think Mike’s coming around too).

We are pregnant.

I am a little over 10 weeks right now. So it feels early to me to be breaking this news, especially considering our, umm, history with being pregnant. But I’ve had 2 ultrasounds so far, and at this point, I’d be so devastated if anything happened that I’d have to write about it anyway. And it got to be feeling kinda weird NOT saying anything, because its a pretty big deal.

A baby, y’all. It makes my heart smile.

22 Comments

Filed under life with kids, the baby

22 responses to “the surprise

  1. Beth

    I’m crying right now because I’m SO happy for you!!!
    A baby…..what wonderful, wonderful news.

    I’m sure you’re freaking out right now. Call me soon!!!!!

  2. CONGRATS ~ That is wonderful!!! 😀

  3. WOW! Congratulations Lauren! What an amazing year you’ll have in 2009.

  4. Congratulations!!!! Wow, you’ve been going through everything you’ve been going through with your little guy, AND going through a first trimester. You are a superhero.

  5. nora

    Are you *%$#@ing me??? We need to talk!!! Life is a mystery and an adventure. I am so excited to meet another Haack baby. Soooo that means you need to move stateside 🙂

  6. oh.my.goodness.

    that is all i could say when i read this (joe was all worried and yelled, “what wrong?!” from the kitchen!). definitely not what i was expecting to read!!!!

    i am so very happy for you! maybe, just maybe, you will have a little girl!! you need someone on your side with all the boys surrounding you!! but, i am sure you would be just as thrilled to add another little guy to your clan!

    congrats to you all! what do the boys think?

  7. Jenna

    Wow! that’s amazing.

  8. Congratulations! I got chills. 🙂

  9. Jeannie

    LAUREN!! I am so happy for you guys. Any child added to your family is a fortunate one, that’s for sure. Wow! Pat your belly and tell the new baby I said hello!! Love you!

  10. that is wonderful news – CONGRATS!

  11. Jennifer

    As you know, we are very excited for you guys…it’s nice to not be the only crazy one with four kids that I know! 🙂

    You guys have so much happening in the next year. I know you are probably overwhelmed with it all, but I have faith that everything is going to work out for your sweet family.

    As always, we continue to pray for all of you. Huge hugs from Texas!

  12. I’m so happy for your happy news…and in awe of your seeming inexhaustable store of energy!

  13. NO FREAKING WAY!!! Can you just move to CO already so we can merge our circuses? I’m so excited for you guys. Heck yeah it’s crazy, but I’m a believer too that there’s always a plan in store, so just live it as best you can. That is so exciting!! I hope you guys get a little girl, though 4 boys would push you into Sainthood and be a blast too. I think about your little (or now not so little!) family all the time and wish you all the best. Happy New Year, and may 2009 bring many blessings to your incredible family.

  14. Lauren,
    What amazing news. I am so excited for y’all.
    Christy

  15. Britta

    Wow! I was absolutely shocked! I have chills all over my arms! How very cool- and I am sure overwhelming. I wondered why we haven’t heard from your in a while….have you known this entire time? This will certaintly put your hormones out of whack! I’m keeping my fingers crossed. CONGRATULATIONS! I just love babies- it makes my heart smile for you too.
    🙂 Britta

  16. Christina

    Oh my gosh! What a blessing – what a great Christmas surprise. And no wonder you were feeling so exhausted – with all you have going on, and to be in your 1st trimester too? I’m amazed you got out of bed every day!
    Praying for a healthy pregnancy and baby, and for everything to go smoothly for E from here on out…

  17. Yay! Congrats! That is such wonderful news! Wishing you a happy and healthy 30 more weeks!

  18. Congrats! I am so glad your ultrasounds went well. I am terrified for you. Everyone is happy…I am happy. But isn’t anyone going to say holy crap you are going to have FOUR kids??!! hehehe Ok, all kidding aside, I am thrilled. And if it’s a boy, we will all love him, but I sure do hope it’s a girl. Now about the name…

  19. Congratulations! Such exciting news and definitely a big surprise!!!

  20. Missy Poole

    OH MY GOODNESS!!!! That is absolutely fantastic news and a definate positive among all you have been dealing with. Perhaps this is God’s way of saying you are meant to have lots of babies!!! CONGRATS and keep us posted…

Leave a Reply

