Happy Christmas

Boys with Santa

Boys with Santa

 

Hey everyone, I thought you might enjoy this photo of our boys with Santa.  Surprisingly, there was no crying this year.  Both the older boys got a Ben 10 watch, and promptly started turning everyone into aliens.  I guess that is much more fun than becoming an alien yourself, which is what Ben does on the cartoon.

We are getting prepped to go down to London on Sunday.  E has decided to stop eating again over the last few days, I think partly because he has been sick.  Our pediatrician and dietitian thought it would be best to put his feeding tube back in so he goes into the surgery with as much energy as he can.  So, we’re back to feeding him with all the equipment again.  Nothing like a little regression to make you feel like you aren’t doing the right things.  I keep hoping that after the heart surgery his appetite will improve.

Right now, we’re just hoping they do the surgery Monday.  E’s been running a fever the last couple days and the surgeon said they wouldn’t operate if he’s sick.  Ren’s mom is coming to town on Friday, thank God.  It’s been a rough couple of weeks for her, and even if they do postpone the surgery, it will be good to have some family here for the holidays. 

Please keep E in your prayers over the next week.  If you’ve been following the blog you know how long we’ve waited to get to this point.  We will post something when we find out anything on the surgery front.

On a personal note, I’ve been thinking a lot about willpower lately.  I typically don’t lose when it comes to a battle of wills with my boys, but no matter how much I want E to eat, it seems he will only do what he wants.  I’ve been struggling with God over E’s health as well, and I feel like I’m about used up.  I read the story about Jacob wrestling a blessing out of God last week and I thought I could relate.  What does that say about me as a Christian when we pray ‘Thy will be done’ with every Lord’s prayer?

My apologies for being a little disjointed.  Please let our friends/family that don’t follow the blog what is going on, as we probably won’t have time to check in with everybody.  I hope you all have a Merry Christmas if I don’t check in before then.

3 Comments

Filed under health issues, life with kids, posts with pics

3 responses to “Happy Christmas

  1. Was thinking of you guys…I will definitely be sending all the positive thoughts your way I can, that you can proceed with the surgery. I hope you get all the comfort you’re hoping when your mom visits!

  2. Christina

    So sorry for the discouraging news – but know that it doesn’t say anything about you as a Christian that you are frustrated and hurting. That just says you are human – and God understands. I’m praying for E and for all of you, that this surgery goes according to schedule and has miraculous results.

  3. Beth

    Thanks for the picture and the update. You guys are in my thoughts daily. I pray for your strength in all of this.

    Your frustration (and Ren’s) is completely understandable, and very normal…this is a frustrating situation.

    I’ll be praying that the surgery happens and that it is successful. Hopefully it will be the beginning of a road to recovery for E. He needs relief from being uncomfortable, and you all need some relief from the neverending care and work.

    Ren, if you’re reading this, take care of yourself and hang in there! I’m sending you a big hug and lots of love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

