a good day

Today Mike had his promotion ceremony at work. As of Dec 1st, he’ll be Major Mike. And I haven’t ever been to any other promotion ceremonies, but it was really nice – the commander said some good stuff about him, and O and Y got to take the Captain’s bars off of his suit to reveal the Major rank.

Of course, my favorite part of this promotion is the pay raise that will accompany it :). Anyway, congratulations, babe – you deserve it! (and I’m not saying this to his face because he’s off on a pub-crawl right now, and I was totally nice about him going, because I am a very supportive wife. I am. Even the commander said so.)

So after the ceremony, I took Emmett to the cardiologist. And they weighed him….and he now weighs 6.09 kgs, compared to the 5.84 kgs he weighed a week after the tube was pulled. So SUPER YAY FOR EMMETT!!

Now the cardiologist thinks we can not do the g-tube surgery, since he’s doing so well. Which I am so so so happy about. By the way, I have to give big props to the cardiologist (you know, the inverted commas guy), because he totally believed that Emmett could do this. Myself – I had no faith that he could even make it a week before becoming dangerously dehydrated. Just goes to show you – God can do amazing things, and I guess I don’t know everything :).

We’re still waiting for a date for the heart surgery – I’m really hoping to hear from them before the end of the week, so that Mike can make his work plans, and we can buy my mom a plane ticket. She’s only going to be able to come for her Christmas break, but we are so excited to see our Berd!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! This year has been one of the hardest ever – if you’ve kept up with us for the past year, you know why (and if you’re new to us, Mike has password protected some of the posts – email me if you’d like the password)…but really, we have SO MUCH to be thankful for.

And just because I’m in such a good mood, I’m gonna share a song with you – Ida Maria’s I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked. The video is pretty poor quality, but the song is so much fun. In fact, so much fun that it is O and Y’s FAVORITE song to sing – which is either hilarious or humiliating, depending on where they’re doing the singing. Oh, a close second goes to Pinks Rockstar song, which they can really belt out. But the naked song is their favorite. After all, what could be funnier to a 2 year old and a 4 year old than saying ‘naked’ a whole lot? Consider this a thanksgiving gift from me to you.

9 Comments

Filed under health issues, music mondays

9 responses to “a good day

  1. Beth

    I’m SOOOOO glad to hear that Emmett is not going to need the tube! What a wonderful thing to be thankful for. Yes, God can do wonderful things. 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving and congrats to Major Mike!

  2. Yay! So glad for all this good news!

  3. Oh, such wonderful news!! Have a happy thanksgiving to Major Mike and family!!

  4. sara

    I’ve been following your blog for a while now and I think you guys are amazing! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Sara

  5. congrats to mike and yippee for emmett!! i hope you guys have a wonderful thanksgiving 🙂

  6. Berd

    Congrads Major Mike. Hope you guys have a wonderful Thanksgiving. See you soon. Love you guys. Gotta go to Meridian. Berd

  7. So glad to hear the Emmett is doing so well! Yay!!!
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Lina

  8. Congrats to your hubby. And praise God for the weight gain! What awesome news! hope the fever goes away asap!

  9. Yay Emmett for gaining weight and yay inverted commas doc for knowing he could do it! And thank you for posting the link to that song. I’ve never heard it before, and those bananas in the video were cracking me up! Freud would have a great time with that (which I’m sure was the whole point).

Leave a Reply

