yes, a rough week

Holly was right, it WAS a rough week. Sorry I go so long between postings – days tend to run together here, and I’m not sure how much y’all really want to know about ER visits, NG tubes, and vomiting. Oh, the vomiting is never-ending.

For right now, though, he’s doing okay-ish. He’s stalled out on his weight gain, which is not suprising considering all the VOMITING, but hasn’t lost any ground. We’ve increased the frequency of his feedings during the day to lower the amount he gets at each feed, and that seems to help a little. What does not seem to be helping is the new formula they have him on, which is a hypoallergenic formula, stinks to high heaven, is thick enough to not want to go down the tube easily, and costs a whopping $26 per small can. So we’ll finish out what we have of that, and hopefully go back to the regular formula, because I think we can safely say that he does not have a milk allergy.

ANYWAY, this week is also half-term for British schools, which has meant that O has been off of school all week. Which has actually been really nice. Its nice when he’s in school, too, because Y is MUCH better behaved when O is not around, but the school run in the mornings and afternoons is such a drag. All this being on time and everything…I really don’t know what we’ll do when we get back to America, where schools start insanely early, because we have a lot of trouble getting him there for the start of school at 9. Of course, in America they have this great thing where you can drop your kid off at the front of the school, right? Here in England, you must deliver your child to and pick him up from his classroom door. Which means all 3 of my kids have to go to the classroom door. Which means that it is really just as easy to walk from our house to school as drive (what with getting the kids into and out of the car, and finding a place to park). Which is all well and good, but it is COLD here people. In the 30s last night. And I don’t do outside in the cold well. Again, ANYWAY, the whole point of this whole rambling paragraph is that its been nice this week to have O home, most importantly because I miss my boy when he’s gone.

The real reason I’m writing today is to get some advice: I am about to order a sign from Hope Studios for Emmett. I’m also ordering some Alphabet tiles for O (Y already has a cool name sign, and I want to do something different for each child). So I’m planning on getting 2 for Emmett – they’ll hang side by side, and one will have a quote from Shel Silverstein that I love (listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. LIsten to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me…Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.), and the other…well, that’s what I need help with. Here’s what I’m thinking of it saying:

Emmett Hoang

His story began on March 25, 2008, in the province of Vung Tau, Vietnam. A new chapter began on August 20, 2008, as we became a part of his story. And as each page unfolds, as our stories become one, our love grows.

This plaque will have the place for the photo on it. So what do y’all think? Too cheesy? I don’t want to give a birth date, as we don’t really have one, only the day he entered the orphanage. And I want to include the day he became our son. And I want it to somehow express our love for him. Can you think of a better way to put all this? Please let me know ASAP if you have any ideas!

And thank you so much, Dana, for the offer of your car! Such generosity blows me away! Thankfully, we FINALLY have our car back!

You guys are the greatest!

4 Comments

Filed under adoption, good stuff, health issues

4 responses to “yes, a rough week

  1. m

    Sorry things are being so rough with your little guy.
    Hang in there.

    By the way, on the schools, it must depend where you live in the US, and what type of school public or private, because we have to drop off and pick up at the door for elementary school. At the beginning of school you needed to submit a list of people allowed to pick your child up. Those doors are locked during the day and no parent comes in or out unless they go through the main office. If your chld does not come to school you must call by 8:30 or they will start calling you.

    YES! YES! YES! I hate getting my child up to get to school so early. The first hour we are up it is still dark. The sun is not even up yet.

  2. Your little man is such a trooper – you all are incredibly strong and your faith is inspiring. Hang in there!! The signs are beautiful – and I love your idea. It’s perfect. I wouldn’t change it.So happy to hear your car is back – but listen, seriously, if you need an extra car for the next 7 months just let me know.

  3. Beth

    I love both plaques. I love the poem….I remember that one from when I was teaching.

    It was sooooo great talking to you yesterday!! 🙂

  4. I LOVE the saying you came up with 🙂 It is truly beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

