Quick Update

Just have time for a quick little update. Emmett had a really rough night the first night out of surgery – we’re talking uncontrollable writhing and screaming for about 3 hours – which of course left me hysterical as well, begging anyone to do SOMETHING for our poor little boy.

They ended up upping his morphine levels, then raised them again when the pain team evaluated him. So he pretty much spent yesterday totally sedated. I came home last night for some much needed sleep, but Mike said that he spent the whole night knocked out too, and so the nurses decreased his morphine. As of now, he’s still pretty sedated.

I guess they’ll decide in rounds if he’s ready to leave the PICU. Honestly, I’m hoping that the peds ward doesn’t have any beds, because the level of care in the PICU is just so much better. I would like to see him awake and comfortable before we go back to the land of begging for his care from overtaxed nurses. But if they feel like he’s ready to go back, and they have room for him, we’ll just have to deal. After all, there are definitely children who need the ICU more than Emmett right now.

So we’ll try to update later today – we’re really hoping that his gut will start working again soon, so he can start feeding and try to avoid having to get a central line for TPN feeding.

I think all in all, it is looking pretty unrealistic that we could go home in a week – right now we can’t even really pick him up.

6 Comments

Filed under life with kids

6 responses to “Quick Update

  1. Oh, I am so sorry. I can only imagine what you must be feeling right now, and even imagining it hurts. My thoughts and prayers are still with you.

  2. I am so sorry to hear that Emmett is still not better. I hope they can get him comfortable before they move him. The PICU is the best place for him right now. Prayers to your family. I am feeling very overwhelmed in my life right now, then I read your story and I realize it could be worse. PRAYERS for all of you.

  3. Christina

    Poor baby! And I can’t imagine how hard that was for you, seeing him in pain like that. I’m glad they are managing it better now. Hopefully all that sleep will be very healing for him… praying that’s the case.
    Take care.

  4. My heart is breaking for little Emmett. I hope they keep a handle on his pain. That must’ve been gut wrenching for you to see him hurting like that. You’re in my prayers.

  5. Oh poor baby Emmett. I hope they get him comfy soon. You are in my family’s prayers.

    Lina

  6. Beth

    I hope his pain is getting better. Keeping you in my prayers.
    I know someone whose son just recently went through this. It takes time…but he’ll slowly heal.
    Hang in there!!

Leave a Reply

