One Surgery Down

Well, E is done with his first surgery and we are now in the ICU.  He is on some morphine for the pain, which makes it a little more tolerable.  First things first.

The surgery went pretty well.  We had to wait an extra 4 hours to get started because the surgery before ours had some complications that made it run long.  E was happy as a clam going into the surgery room.  Obviously he had no idea what he was getting into.  The whole thing took about 3 1/2 hours and they did several things.  First, they looked at his intestines, found the malrotation they thought was there, and rearranged them back in the right place.  Apparently the doudenum was all jumbled up, so it is good that the doctors decided that surgery was the way to go.  While they were doing this they took out his appendix, so nobody will be confused on whether he is having appendicitis or complications due to the surgery later on down the line.  So he has a 4 inch lateral incision on his stomach above his belly button.

After they got done with that part, the surgeons used an endoscope to look down his throat and stomach with the intention on putting a g-tube in.  However, his stomach was smaller than normal, increasing the risk of placing the tube, plus they didn’t see any evidence of reflux or other problems on that end, so they were debating whether to even put in the tube because they thought the feeding problems could possibly be caused by his intestines causing his stomach to empty slowly.  While they were talking about that, there was a “blip” in the anesthesia (I’m not sure what that means exactly), so they decided to just finish up and wake him up.  Apparently the “blip” was not serious, so that’s good.

So after the surgery he came up to the PICU where Ren and I have been keeping him company.  When his morphine wears off he wakes up in a lot of pain but he is asleep now.  They are going to have to put in another IV line because he just blew one in his right hand.  It was swollen pretty badly before Ren noticed it and the nurse was a little freaked out, but the Dr here said it would be fine and it returned to pink within a few minutes after they took off all the stuff.  Still, one more thing that E is dealing with.

Hopefully we can go back to the regular Peds ward tomorrow, where we will probably stay for a week or so.  Since we don’t have the G tube in, we’ll have to use the one through his nose for now.  I think they would send us home like that, but hopefully E’s finds his appetite so we can avoid any more unpleasantness. 

Thanks so much to everybody for your prayers and thoughtful posts, emails, and phone calls.  Praise God for giving the surgical team the skill and wisdom to fix our boy’s tummy.  We will try to keep you posted as we continue on with our adventures.

EDITED TO ADD: Hey, ren here…I just also wanted to say thank you thank you thank you so much to everyone who has been praying for Emmett. And to ask you to continue to pray – the surgeon had to do a lot of repair work in his abdomen, and the more he did, the higher the risk for adhesions becomes. About the same risk of forming adhesions after a raging appendicitis, the doc told us. So please, please don’t stop praying – the next couple of weeks will be crucial. And please pray especially the next few days, as he is not out of the woods in terms of how his heart will react to this surgery – as the anesthesiologist explained it to me, he’ll be having fluid shifts in his body as a result of the surgery, putting further strain on his heart.

But laying the negativity aside, I am so grateful to God for getting Emmett to this point. This morning both the anesthesiologist and the surgeon were telling me they didn’t want to do this surgery because it was such a risk due to his heart, but that they had to do it. I consider it a miracle that he made it through today. I also consider it a miracle that Mike and I made it through the day 🙂 . Now we ask the Lord to continue blessing this child.

13 Comments

Filed under adoption, life with kids

13 responses to “One Surgery Down

  1. Beth

    I’m so glad to hear that E made it through the surgery with no complications. I will continue to pray that he heals and that he stays pain free as much as possible.

    You two are doing a great job. Kisses to all three boys. Hang in there!

    Keep us updated on how he progresses!

  2. Wonderful news. I’ll keep praying. You’ve got a tough cookie there …

  3. Christina

    Praise God for bringing him through the surgery. It sounds like the surgeons were very careful and wise in the way they conducted the surgery … I’m praying that Emmett will heal well and will not have complications from adhesions or anything else. And prayers for you – to feel more rested than normal sleep allows, for strength, encouragement and peace. God be with you!

  4. I am so glad the surgery went well. I will keep praying that he will heal without complications and that you will feel peace and support amidst the trials.

  5. Jennifer

    You know the saying that ‘Everything is bigger in Texas’ applies to our prayers too! And we’ve been praying for Emmett, and for his Mom and Dad, pretty much non-stop since I got home. My kids want to look at his pictures morning, noon, and night, and have even told their teachers to pray for him.

    I am SO PROUD of you, Lauren, for being stronger than you probably ever thought possible. I know it seems impossible sometimes, but the fact is, YOU ARE DOING THIS. Day in, day out, with strength and grace and courage.

    Know that we will continue to pray for your whole family. Let me know if you need anything at all. I already told Mark you might need me to come back again, so I’ve planted the seed… 🙂

  6. I am so glad the surgery went well. I will continue to pray.
    Christy

  7. I am praying for Emmett. Poor little guy has been through so much in his short life.

    Just to let you know I have a stomach disease called Gastroparesis. Which is basically a paralyzed stomach which does not empty correctly. They think it is mostly blamed on my duodenum not working correctly. This is very uncomfortable. You don’t want to eat and are full after just a few bites. It also makes me very nauseous and throw up alot.If this is anything like Emmett has been feeling,I am so glad they identified this problem and were able to fix it. I think this was probably the cause of his eating problems and weight gain issues. I think you will see a huge improvement after this surgery. I will be watching for future updates.

    Heather- Ap to Meliah and Khai 18 months old from Lang son,Vietnam

  8. Kim

    Glad the surgery went well. You are all so strong! Keep it up. Our prayers are with you.

  9. I was thinking of you all day. I’m so glad the surgery was done given what they discovered and I’m so glad he came out of it so well. I hope the pain subsides quickly and I will pray for no adhesions.

  10. I am so happy to hear the surgery went well.It sounds like you’ve got a strong medical team, and a brave little boy, both of which are such blessings. Definitely sending prayers your way!

  11. It was my birthday yesterday and I made a wish that Emmett will be all better in no time. I’m encouraged by the news! There is a special place in God’s heart for the little ones and I know that He is looking after your little boy. I think you are a very strong family and I’ll continue to pray for his well-being!

  12. Jeannie

    You guys are amazing, and I love little Emmett and how strong he is. He has a lot working against him, but he is now a part of the most loving, wonderful family I know. I’m sending you all of my good thoughts and hugs. I love you guys.

  13. All That We Let In

    Any more news? I’ve been thinking of you all and sending you prayers of strength.

Leave a Reply

