Overwhelmed

I often find myself feeling overwhelmed these days…overwhelmed by all the doctor’s visits, overwhelmed by the bad news that accompanies said visits, overwhelmed by the needs of this child whom I love who has so many problems, overwhelmed by the sadness and anger of my former “baby boy”, now our “middle”, who is just not receiving the attention he needs.

Tonight I am overwhelmed for a different reason – one of my closest friends, Jennifer, who has four kids of her own, is taking time out from her crazy life to come help me with mine. This wouldn’t be possible without the help of another dear friend, Holly, who will be stepping in to take care of Jen’s kids while she’s here. These girls have been friends of mine from high school, and are, along with Jeannie, Carol, Jason, Chris, Laura, Jeff (and the rest of the gang), the reason that Mississippi will always be my home. How could it be any other way with friends like these? I am overhwelmed by this act of generosity. Thanks, ladies (as big fat tears roll down my cheeks).

My mom is also planning to come for 2 weeks in October, and I am really hoping that Mike’s mom can come for at least a week.

We may just make it until Mike comes home 🙂 .

Of course, we wouldn’t have made it this far without the above and beyond help of my friends Sarah, Hang, Margaret, Colleen, Courtney, Beth, and others, who have cared for O and Y, slept over to help with Emmett, watched Kodi, cooked our meals, even cleaned my house, and most importantly, have listened to me vent (a lot) about this whole situation. These ladies truly embody the term “military family”.

And then of course there’s my friends from Florida, Beth, Nora, Britta, Lauren, and Carolyn, whom I love like sisters, providing moral support from a continent away.

Then there’s the rest of you – women that I’ve never met, but whom I consider friends, and who understand a lot of the issues here related to international adoption, as well as motherhood in general, all too well. I owe you guys big, fat frozen boat drinks.

I think overwhelmed is the perfect word.

8 Comments

Filed under adoption

8 responses to “Overwhelmed

  1. TX Cajun

    I am glad you are getting some help over there.
    Christy

  2. I am sorry you are so overwhelemed right now, but am glad you have such great people in your life who can help out. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  3. Beth

    We love you!! And we miss you here in FL. I wish with all my heart I could come and be there with you.
    You are in my prayers. Call me or email me your number!

    I’m so glad to hear that your friend is coming and that your mom is coming too. That will be a great tremendous help.

  4. Britta

    I am sooo jealous! I wish I could arrange for someone to watch my kids so that i could come help. Wow to your friends thanks so much for being there for her like that!
    (Unfortunatley I had a hard time getting someone ot come watch my kids so I could go to my uncle’s funeral!) I want sooo badly to be there for you and to help you. I talked wiht Nora the others day she said that yall had talked. Man- i wish there was something i could do to help. Keep fighting for everything important and right and I am with you (in spirit)as you work through your new daily struggles, you can make it. You are so amazingly strong!
    Miss you. Hang in there-
    🙂 Britta

  5. I’m SO happy you’re getting on-the-ground help! Thanks to your real-life friends, from me, a words-only friend!

  6. ladybugsmama

    I can feel your overwhelmedness here and it makes me teary. The one thing I can say for sure, is that, it will pass, it will pass…you will find a new normal. In the meantime…praying for you and glad you have friends to lean on!

  7. Jeannie

    Oh my god…I am so thankful that Jennifer and Holly are able to do this. They are amazing — what a strong, generous circle of moms you ladies are. I’m in awe.

    Lauren, I’m thinking about you everyday. I am so sorry this is such a difficult time, but I have no doubt about this: Emmett could not be in a more loving home.

  8. Lauren –

    I think of you all the time! Give E a big hug from us. We wish you all the best, and are happy you have such wonderful friends that can be such a support for you!

Leave a Reply

