home

Ok, y’all, sorry to keep you in suspense, but we are finally home. We left Vietnam on Thursday, landed in LA on Thursday afternoon (after crossing the international date line), got Emmett’s passport on Friday, flew out of LA on Saturday morning, and landed in London on Sunday morning.

I am exhausted.

Thankfully I have some wonderful friends who are bringing meals, and who even slept over Sunday night and last night so I could get at least a little bit of uninterrupted sleep.

Today we went to the doctor: we now have pending referrals for pediatric cardiology, pediatric ophthalmology, pediatric urology, and early intervention services. Emmett had an EKG, a chest x-ray, and bloodwork taken today. Unfortunately they couldn’t take all the blood they needed in one day, so we have to go back to get more done tomorrow or Thursday. We should be seeing the cardiologist next Wednesday, which is the first day he’ll be back seeing patients after doing a week in the NICU.

I can’t tell you all how much all of your support has meant and continues to mean to me. We are really struggling right now, and all the comments really help.

I’ll have to get into all the details later, as its time to feed the baby, but thanks again.

Oh, and today was the first day of Reception (basically kindergarden in England) for O. He says he’s willing to go back tomorrow, so I’ll count that as success!

And finally, my heart goes out to all of the families out there who weren’t able to receive an official referral by the Sept 1st deadline. My prayer is that you will still be able to build your families- please don’t give up hope!

18 Comments

Filed under adoption

18 responses to “home

  1. SO happy to read that you are both home safe and sound. I hope the doctors can give you some reassurance.

  2. i am so glad you are already seeing doctors and getting emmett the help he needs. i am sure you were so ready to see your boys also!!

    hang in there lauren, i know this is so incredibly hard for you and the boys. i am going to continue to pray that God will surround you with helpful hands and people that you can lean on. and of course, i will be praying for little emmett.

  3. Glad you made it back safe and sound. I hope Emmett’s tests end up showing that things aren’t as bad as you expected.

  4. Christina

    Oh wow. That is a LOT of flying! Glad you made it home safe and sound. Prayers for lots of good medical diagnosies.

  5. Jeannie

    Welcome home, Emmett! And Lauren, too 🙂

    I’m so relieved to hear you guys made it safely. I wish I could be there to help out, but I’ll send my good wishes and thoughts from afar for now.

    You seriously are amazing — your strength and dedication to this is just beyond measure. And I know that Emmett is right where he belongs now. What a trooper he is! He is now part of the best family I know, so I believe in my heart that he will grow and thrive with you.

    Miss you tons!

  6. Glad you made it home! Hopefully getting some sleep and having a the comfort of home will help. I will keep praying for little Emmett and you!

  7. Beth

    SOOO glad to hear you’re home. Sounds like you’re on the road to getting Emmett the services he needs. Keep us updated as much as you can. We are all praying for you guys.

    Hang in there, girl!
    Give the boys a hug and kiss from me…

  8. Lexi Rhoads

    Congrats! Please let us know what we can do to help- we are only a few hours away. =)

  9. Yay! Butterpea is glad Emmett is home. 🙂 Let us know how all of his dr. appointments go. Need. More. Pictures. (When you get time of course.)
    🙂

  10. So glad you’re back with friends…my first advice: ask them for help, more than you have, more than you even feel comfortable with. They’ll want to, and you’ll feel so much better.

    It’s got to be so hard for you. I can’t imagine your strength. I hope things calm down and you can have some calm easy moments with Emmett…you both deserve that.

  11. Nora

    I am so happy for you, for Emmet, and for the rest of your family. Words cannot express how proud I am of all of you. Wishing so much I could be there to help (at least mentally!)
    Sending you so much love…

  12. David & Karen Postema

    Congrats to you both and your family! You are an adventurous bunch! 🙂

    We pray that the Lord will bless your family and that Emmet may bring you continued joy and that the Lord’s great blessings will be abundant and evident to ya’ll.

  13. So glad you and your little peanut made it home safe and sound…I know you must be so relieved! Give Emmett a hug from Kenna for me!!

  14. Missy Poole

    Great news Lauren – you are so strong! Welcome back to the UK and my best thoughts and prayers are with you, Emmett, and your whole family during this time. Hopefully, I’ll get to see you all soon…if you need anything else, let me know. I am up the road!!!

  15. Jaimie

    Congratulations on your baby boy! I’m glad you finally made it home so you can start your routine and get help with Emmett.

  16. TX Cajun

    Glad y’all had a safe trip home. How is everything going?
    Christy

  17. Britta

    In just a few months you will have him on your lap saying “remember when…” and “We love you so much… that I…” I am so proud to have you as my friend and amazed at the strength you have had to display (like you have a choice!) but I am totally impressed none the less. You all have this time and experience for only God knows why -but in time it will be revealed. Hang in there; he’ll learn to love you as you will him- bond like no other. I think about you guys often. Can’t wait to hear how things are going! Wish I could be there to help- make dinner- talk to …. all the above! I miss you! Hang in there!
    🙂 Britta

Leave a Reply

