Leaving on a jet plane

We are all set to leave tomorrow morning! Unfortunately, it will be on a plane to Los Angeles, not London. Contrary to what the British Embassy told me yesterday, they do not issue UK visas to adopted children from Vietnam, because the UK has no bilateral agreement with Vietnam. Of course, when they told me this at my appointment, I started crying, and explained why it was important for Emmett and I to get back. So the lady went and talked to her boss, and came back and said they WOULD issue him the visa, on compassionate grounds, but because it was outside of the rules, she couldn’t guarantee that when I went through immigration in London, that they would let Emmett in, and that if they didn’t it wouldn’t be their problem. When I asked her what we would do if that happened, she shrugged her shoulders and told me I’d probably have to fly that day to the states.

So. Emmett now has US and UK visas…Hunky and I went back and forth about this again and again after the appointment, and we both feel that I just cant risk getting denied to come into England, or have the UK government show up at my house sometime when Hunky’s still gone and tell me that we have to take Emmett to the US immediately. We’ll just do this the long, hard way, and hope and pray that Emmett is up to the flights.

So I have Emmett’s passport appointment scheduled on Friday at 11 in Los Angeles- and I will be begging and pleading with them to do it same day, as I will have made plane reservations to leave for London on Saturday.

I finally got to the Old Quarter today, and bought a stroller. It is of no help to me here, and we have 3 already in England, but I figured it was a small price to pay for being able to lay him down if he’s sleeping during our layover in Hong Kong. I tried it out this afternoon – needless to say, Emmett was not impressed. Umm, it might be more accurate to say that he hated it. But he’s hated a lot of things today…

I’m worried that he’s not feeling well – he had been eating pretty well for me the past few days, but today has been a struggle to get him to eat at most of his feedings. And this morning he had his worst fit ever – I promise he cried for 30 minutes straight – gut-wrenching cries that only stoppped when he was so exhausted that he fell asleep in the pouch. These episodes inevitably leave me in tears too – its hard to feel like I’m doing a good job as his mother when he’s like this – he’ll start to calm down, then look at me and get worked up all over again. So that was before breakfast, and he repeated it around 6 tonight too. he’s also slept alot during the day today, in the pouch while we’ve been out and about. I really hope he’s not getting sick – so not what he or I need for this airplane flight.

So lets see – here’s the prayer requests for today: for Emmett to be feeling better tomorrow, for him to do fine healthwise on the plane, for Hunky to be safe as he leaves for his deployment tomorrow, for O and Y as they move back into my friend S’s house until I get back.

I did just want to give a little shout out to God – He really has been with us for this journey, even when I’m feeling helpless and alone. He got us our approval before Hunky left, enabling us to get the IR-3 visa, and He’s expidited this in-country process every step of the way (I mean, I could have left last night, which would have put me atΒ 8 days in Vietnam). Now I have no idea how I’m going to be able to handle everything when we do get home, but I have to trust that God will be with us then too, and somehow, someway, we’ll be okay.

22 Comments

Filed under adoption, While in Vietnam

22 responses to “Leaving on a jet plane

  1. Praying for you and your little guy. I know it is hard to be alone in Vietnam with a sad baby, but this will pass–you are doing a great job and he will learn that you are his mommy. God is with you now and on the flight home!

  2. wow, so amazing that you kind find the blessing during such an uncertain time. i don’t think i could do it.

    you are doing an amazing job and i am sure emmett will just thrive once he gets home and gets the care he needs.

    i am going to add a prayer for LOTS of sleep on the plane rides!!

  3. Berd

    I’ve read every blog. I’m just speechless about all you and Hunky are doing. I am so proud of you.You have accomplished so much in your short life. Can’t wait to rock Emmett to sleep. I am keeping all of you in my prayers. Love you guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Berd

  4. TX Cajun

    I will keep y’all in my prayers. You are doing great.
    Christy

  5. I’m so sorry you have to go all the way to the States first! I am praying, praying, praying for you guys!

  6. Beth

    Keep it up! You’re doing a great job! Emmett will learn that you’re his momma. He’ll get better once he gets home. I’ll be praying that he does great on the trip to the States. It’s unfortunate that you can’t go straight to England, but it’s better to be safe than sorry…it would be awful if you got sent back once you got to the UK.

    Good luck!!

  7. I sure hope you asked for the bassinet seating! I meant to ask you that before. We put Mally in it to sleep on our overseas flight and it was fantastic. I know you want to hold him 24/7, but it’s nice to have a place to put them during the meal and such. I know he will do just fine. I worry more about you than him!! πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  8. Sarah

    Lots of people here are praying for you! We can’t wait to meet Emmett. Good luck on the flight. You are doing a fabulous job even when it doesn’t feel like it. The boys are doing great,(despite me making O open his own juice box, LOL ) and are behaving like little gentlemen. See you soon!

  9. You have the light at the end of the tunnel! Our prayers are with you for a safe, quiet trip to the US and back to the UK to build your life with your little one! Safe travels!!

  10. Sheryl

    I’m so happy for you guys! I have been following your story and I’m thrilled you have your little boy! God is good!

  11. Kim

    You are amazing! You’re so close to being home — hang in there. You’re all in my prayers.

  12. Britta

    Lauren! I am so impressed at how brave and strong you are right now- of course you have no choice- but still it is absolutely awesome none the less. I am so proud to tell people about my friend all alone in Vietnam with a newborn (with a crazy feeding schedule)! About 6 months from now you will be able to look back at all of this and say remember when….
    Hang in there you can do it! We miss you, I think of you often. πŸ™‚ Britta

  13. Britta

    Lauren- I just posted something but it didn’t show up so just in case this sounds familiar… that’s why.
    I am so amazed at how strong you have been (not that you’ve had a choice) it’s like being a “special” spouse people always say man I don’t know how you can be so brave and how you keep it all together- and the answer is “I just do- it’s what I have to do” i am so proud to tell my friends about your struggles and have lots of people thinking about you guys. You are doing a wonderful job. In a few months you are going to be able to say “remember when…”. Things will settle in- all babies have to learn their mamas- this isn’t any different. He will so get there – as you with him form your special bond that no one else will have. You’ll have him on your lap as a toddler and tell him the story about when you got him over and over… as Devynn says, tell me the story about…. remember mama remember? Once you get home things will start to settle in as everyone learns their new place and routines are established all over again. Can I say COFFEE and lots of it- will probably be your friend here really soon. Miss you guys- keep on keeping on. πŸ™‚ Britta

  14. I just found your blog and sat and read your adoption journey. We have been stalking our inboxes (and yes junk mail too) for the last 10 days and have yet to hear if we have our confirmation for our I-600. Geeze how great would it be if we just got an approval letter like your family! What an absolute miracle. Look forward to following the rest of your journey and we’ll be praying for you πŸ™‚

  15. Jennifer

    Hopefully you two have landed safely on American soil and are getting some much needed rest! I will pray for a quick, speedy process as you go through the passport process in LA. I know you are anxious to get home with this sweet boy, home to your other two sweet boys, and to get Emmett’s medical care under way. You are such a great mom, and Emmett is blessed to have you. We’re praying for safe travels for both of you!

  16. Britta

    OMG I have tried to post 6 x’s now and it isn’t showing up- I had all these nice “insightful” things to say but now am at a loss as I am just absolutely dead beat tired (I know it can’t even begin to compare to you right now) anyway…here it is abbreviated FOR THE THIRD TIME. In just a few months you will have him on your lap saying “remember when…” and “We love you so much… that I…” I am so proud to have you as my friend and amazed at the strength you have had to display (like you have a choice!) but I am totally impressed none the less. You all have this time and experience for only God knows why but in time it will be revealed. Hang in there; he’ll learn to love you as you will him- bond like no other. I think about you guys often. Can’t wait to hear how things are going!
    πŸ™‚ Britta

  17. Scott Miller

    Lauren

    Hopefully your trip is going well. Is Emmett on your tricare currently? If yes and you end up stuck in Los Angeles while waiting for a Visa, you might want to go by UCLA Med center Peds Hospital and get an Echocardiogram. This might give you a better understanding of the underlying cardiac physiology. Do you know if the AF will send you to Wilford Hall? If so let us know and you are more than welcome to stay with us. Take care
    Scott

  18. Beth

    I’m praying that you are safe and doing well.

  19. praying for you and anxious for an update.

  20. Beth

    I keep checking here….praying for great travel and an update soon.

  21. Are you home yet? Thinking of you and hoping you are both home safely.

  22. Sara

    I am hoping that your traveling went well and that you are home safely.

Leave a Reply

