Hanging in

Today hasn’t been so bad – Emmett has eaten pretty well, and taken a few good naps. Ugh, last night was rough, what with all the feedings and no Hunky to take a turn. I guess I’d better get used to it though. I wouldn’t mind it so much if I wasn’t so scared to fall asleep after in fear that he’ll stop breathing.

We found Highand Coffee inside our hotel complex, and I bit the bullet and had a mango smoothie. I already have an upset stomach, and I miss fruit so much! It was so good, I think that’ll be a daily habit.

Then I packed a bottle, loaded Emmett into the pouch, and took off in search of the Old Quarter. I didn’t find it before I felt it was just getting to be too hot for him (I think it was about 95 degrees here today, and more humid than Florida or Mississippi, I promise), and we turned back. I did find souvenier t-shirts for the boys, but if anyone has been to Vietnam and can tell me where I could get some cheap pretend Vietnamese flags, I’d really appreciate it. The boys started collecting them on our trip this summer, and I’d love to bring a couple home, but haven’t seen any of the cheesy souvenier shops that would sell them. Apart from that, I really don’t think I’ll do very much shopping, as I have very little luggage space (I’ve got one checked bag and one backpack to carry on – didn’t want to do more so I can handle it all myself while holding Emmett), and because I am a horrible bargainer. I know you’re supposed to haggle, but I can’t make myself do it. These people I bought the t-shirts from seemed not very well off, and I just get all embarrassed and pay whatever they say.

Tomorrow we’ll go to Emmett’s visa physical, and then drop his paperwork off at the Consulate, where I intend to (fruitlessly, I’m sure) ask if there is any way they could expedite the process so that we can get his passport back to try to obtain a UK visa. I’m positive they’ll say there’s nothing they can do, and then we’ll probably drop the UK visa thing, but if I could skip 1 long plane ride for Emmett and get home faster, I’ll do it in a heartbeat.

4 Comments

Filed under adoption, While in Vietnam

4 responses to “Hanging in

  1. TX Cajun

    Glad to hear things are going better. Sounds like you are doing a great job. Can’t wait to see more pics. He is so cute.
    Christy

  2. i am glad you are hanging in there. it is hard for me to find comforting words, because i can tell the you are having such a hard time.

    i pray that the rest of your trip goes smootly. just know that i am thinking about you 🙂

  3. Beth

    I’m glad to hear that things went better today. I know you must be so sleep deprived!! Hang in there. You’ll be home soon! 🙂

  4. So glad you found the Highlands; I loved that one when we were in Vietnam (and the passion-fruit cheesecake…heaven). On the same floor, there’s that grocery store and the kids clothing store, and also a kiosk in the middle of the floor…does that have Vietnamese flag souvenier-type stuff?

Leave a Reply

