Hanoi

Emmett and I have made it to Hanoi, after a little drama.

First, the airline we were flying on wouldn’t let us check in without Emmett being examined by the airport doctor. Which was/is terrifying, considering we have to make quite a few airplane trips over the next week and a half, and I won’t always have an advocate with me who can communicate with the airline employees (I sure do wish I knew what both sides were saying, though). I think they wouldn’t have let him on board except that we had the records from the SOS clinic visit last night.

Then there was the tearful (on my part) goodbye to Hunky, who hopefully by now is on his way back to London after hanging out at the HCMC airport all day waiting for his flight.

Then there was the mini-showdown between me and our agency’s VN rep (who was flying with me, and has really been a huge blessing to us on this trip), in which she inquired as to why I was so upset, and I told her exactly why. I think that discussion will have to be saved for a password-protected post, however.

Emmett did okay on the flight – he cried for about 20 minutes, but he was by no means the longest or loudest crier on the flight. I was just happy he didn’t turn blue when we got up in the air.

We are now settled in the Somerset Grand Hotel in Hanoi, and it is lovely. With room service and a restaurant and a pool, gym, sauna, etc, its like a nice American hotel. We are staying in a 2 bedroom apartment (only because the 1-bedrooms were full), and if I was going to have to stay in Hanoi for a long time (please God no), I’d want to stay here. As things stand, I have reservations here until the 27th – I’m not sure what happens after that, since I’ll definitely be in Vietnam until at least the 28th.

Emmett has had a fairly good afternoon and evening, although I think he’s having an allergic reaction to something, as he’s done nothing but try to scratch his face and head since we’ve gotten here. Poor kid. But I think he’s starting to get used to me at least a little bit…I wouldn’t call it bonding yet.

I feel so sorry for him – he’s been taken away from everything that is familiar to him, and he is, in general, being a really good sport about it. But sometimes when he’s tired and fussy, and I’m trying to get him to eat(more on that in a minute), I’ll be holding him and walking him around, and he’ll just look into my face and start bawling. And it breaks my heart. I want to be the one he looks to for comfort, not the one who represents everything that is wrong in his little world. But I think, just maybe, that the crying jags are getting shorter.

I hope that I’ll be able to see some of Hanoi while we’re here. Hunky and I both found it depressing that we really saw nothing of HCMC. But we’ve been pretty overwhelmed, I’ve been a little sick to my stomach, and – I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before – Emmett needs to eat every 1 1/2 hours (that’s right – 2 ounces every 1 1/2 hours). That doesn’t leave very much time for sightseeing in cities where you can’t drink the water, and the baby requires that the bottles be warmed. He also isn’t supposed to be overheated, which is kind of hard to avoid when its 90-some degrees with 100% humidity outside. All in all, just not a great situation for doing touristy things. But tomorrow is Sunday, and we have nothing to do until Monday morning, so maybe we’ll get out for a little bit.

Ahh, the feedings. Every 90 minutes. 16 feelings a day, which is 4 more than Y had to have when he getting biliblanket therapy for jaundice as a newborn, It feels like that’s all we do. Especially because Emmett doesn’t really feel like eating that often, and so a lot of these feedings involve lots of formula all over his face (because he has this neat trick where he fools you into thinking he’s drinking, then spits a mouthful of formula out. Not to mention the me freaking out when he won’t take the bottle at all, considering how little he is (right at 10 pounds last night at the clinic). But it is a great feeling when he does take the bottle. And even when he spits it all out, he looks pretty darn cute doing it. And speaking of feeding, its that time again.

4 Comments

Filed under adoption, While in Vietnam

4 responses to “Hanoi

  1. Jeannie

    Ren, I am seriously in AWE of you. You are amazing. And Emmett is so cute I can’t stand it. I know that in your care he will flourish and you will be the best mom to him that he could ever have.

    I’m thinking about you all the time and wish I could do more to help. Please give him kisses for me and know that you guys are in my heart.

  2. You have mentioned password protection on your blog a few times. Do you have a seperate blog for those entries or have you just not put the password on here yet?

    Glad you got through the airport. Good luck in Hanoi. Hugs!

  3. Lauren –

    Just ran across your blog – I am at the Somerset as well, with my husband, mother in law, 5 year old son and newest addition, Kenna Grace from Bac Ninh (6 mos). We will be in Hanoi until at least 9/1. I would love for the babies to meet 🙂

  4. Beth

    Wow! I am feeling your pain on the feedings. The most Logan did was 14 times a day, and that was awful.

    Hang in there. I’m so glad to hear you’re in a nice, comfy hotel. Hopefully things continue to go smoothly.

Leave a Reply

