Trying

I’m trying really hard not to lose my temper or freak out, but as each day passes without an acknowledgement that our I-600 has been received by USCIS in Vietnam, it gets harder. Today is August 7th…Hunky needs to be in town here for pre-deployment stuff by August 21st. This does not leave very much wiggle room, eh? And we have no idea if the US government is going to be okay with him going to visit Emmett before the adoption takes place. And I figure that we won’t hear anything about that until at least when they ACKNOWLEDGE that they have received our documents. So the idea that we are going to be able to coordinate his getting US permission to go, Vietnamese and orphanage permission to go, and actually going, is starting to look not very good.

If there is anyone out there who reads this and has received I-600 acknowledgement, could you please let me know how long it took between the time your I-600 arrived at USCIS, and when they acknowledged that it was there?

6 Comments

Filed under adoption

6 responses to “Trying

  1. Lisa Pinter

    WE received acknowledgement one week later(June 2nd) and then approval July 31st. WE did need one extra paper from the birthfamily(which may have delayed approval a little). WE travel in 2 weeks. Good luck.

  2. kare

    It took us 13 days to get our acknowledgement.

    I have heard of one parent traveling first to see the baby.

  3. Our I-600 was filed on July 25th and acknowledged on August 2nd, so it took 8 days. The interesting thing about our acknowledgement is that I received it on a Friday night which would have been a Saturday morning in VN. I’m so sorry; I know the waiting is agony. I hope you’ll hear something soon.

  4. melzmidnightbrew

    I just came across your blog. I look forward to following your adoption journey! I’ll keep you guys in my prayers. We are adopting a special needs little girl from Ben Tre, VN. Please visit my blog – I’d love to keep in touch! 🙂

  5. jan ranger (JTM phoebe)

    filed 7/8, acknowledged 7/17. 🙂

  6. suzanne

    Filed 7/8, acknowledged 7/18 to incorrectly spelled email address. Inquired with USCIS and found out it had been sent and returned undeliverable. I suggest talking with your agency – it shouldn’t take longer than 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

