the details

I think most of this I’ve shared before, but here’s what we know about this boy:

  1. He is super cute – this much is obvious from the 2 pictures that we have. If I could figure out how to do that thing where you just show a portion of the picture, I’d do it – full photos will have to wait until he’s officially a part of our family.
  2. He was born in March.
  3. He is from the Vung Tau province.
  4. He has a couple of heart problems, at least one of which will require surgery.
  5. We can’t rule out the possibility of further medical problems – after a lot of thought and prayer, we have decided that if God wants Emmett to be a part of our family, he’ll give us the tools that we will need to be good parents to him, even if his needs are greater than what we’ve planned for.
  6. Did I mention the adorableness?
  7. We now know the circumstances of how he came to be in the orphanage, although that’s also something that we’ll keep private.

Here’s what we don’t know:

  1. How long it will take our I-600 to be approved (I-600: Take Two should arrive at USCIS by Monday)
  2. If USCIS will let Hunky travel to meet Emmett before he has to deploy in late August (we are totally not expecting approval by then), so that Emmett can come to America on an IR-3 Visa, making it easier for him to then come to England.
  3. How long after approval it will take to schedule the Giving and Receiving Ceremony after approval – this is not a province that our agency has ever worked with before, so they have no idea how fast the province works. The DIA has apparently written to USCIS on Emmett’s behalf, to urge fast approval due to his medical condition, so maybe they can do the same with the province.
  4. If we will be asked to do DNA testing, which will pretty much be impossible in his case.
  5. If we could actually bring him to England first to evaluate his health before flying all the way to America to get citizenship stuff taken care of.

Hmmm, it seems like there’s so much else we don’t know, but that’s all that comes to mind right now. We are just really trying to leave the approval and travel details up to God (which is SOOO hard for me, surprise, surprise), because we have really done all we can here. For a while I was really upset about the fact that Hunky will most likely not be able to travel with me to go to Vietnam, and that things will probably be super complicated due to that and because we don’t live in America…but now, I just don’t care. We just want to bring him home safely. The smoother the better, but I can do this the hard way, too.

Thanks so much for the concern about O…you know, it just goes to show you – I am such a worrier: every bruise, every cough, every warm forehead sends me into High Alert Mode, but losing my child in a store is something I’ve never, ever even considered worrying about. Maybe I need to start worrying about more stuff. OR I could just do as the Bible says and NOT WORRY. Decisions, decisions…

7 Comments

Filed under adoption

7 responses to “the details

  1. Beth

    Hopefully things will go quickly and smoothly.
    Yes, you are a worrier, and no, you shouldn’t worry more.
    Here’s a quote I try to remember when I start worrying too much….you know me…I worry about as much as you!
    “Worry: Interest paid on a debt we may never owe.”

    Love ya!

  2. OK, my next post is about NOT WORRYING! Trust me, after 3 weeks of intense worrying–I can say that it is a waste of energy and effort…and honestly I think insulting to God. I hope I have learned my lesson. Sorry to go hijacking there!

    The details WILL work out and you will be amazed at how it all comes together, although it sure does sound complicated…but God can move mountains, so bringing your boy home to you should be a piece of cake for Him. I think you might like this blog…
    teamalexander.blogspot.com

    p.s. my son was scheduled for open heart surgery and a week before the surgery, his very large VSD had closed (less than a month earlier it was there and big!)–the dr. was absolutely shocked…miracles can happen!

  3. ok just went back and checked, and it was her post from July 15th that I think you would like!

  4. Just checking in to say hi. I can’t wait to see picture of the little guy.

  5. Jeannie

    Ren!!! I am so so so SO happy for you guys! It is finally official. I know you won’t be able to really believe it until he is there with you, but still, this is huge. YAY YAY YAY!

    Miss you tons and wish I could see you.

  6. I just got home from Europe yesterday and had to check to see an adoption update. I cried like a big baby!! Hugs and more hugs and congratulations!! I like the first name choice Emmett Riggan Huang H. It’s so cute. Emmett doesn’t sound like a giant football player now that he is so real and I can picture this little bitty Vietnamese baby! It seems perfect. 🙂 Let us all know if you have to come to the states for any of it. We’d love to see you again.

  7. looking back, after i know that outcome is so amazing!! God truly did provide for you and answered your prayers!! praise God!!

    i just can’t wait to see a picture of your little guys…i am sure he is just precius!

Leave a Reply

