a question

No, I didn’t get lost in a box, but rather in a sea of boxes – moving house is hard work! But it is done – we’ve turned in the keys to the old house (after a marathon 5 day cleaning session) and have pretty much finished setting up the new house. A few things still need to go up on the walls, but I’d call us done.

But so much else has been going on! O turned 4, we had a birthday party here at the house (an excuse to get the house completely unpacked), a family that we’re sponsoring in Hunky’s squadron arrived and we’ve been showing them around, and of course, lots of adoption drama. Oh, the drama! But I think we’ll save that for a password protected post down the road. Suffice it to say that our second I-600 package will be on its way to Vietnam this week (hopefully today).

Oh and before I forget, I have to tell you the scariest thing that’s ever happened to me: yesterday a group of 4 ladies and 7 young children went to London. We ended up at Harrods, which is apparently one of the biggest stores in the world. And for the 10 longest minutes of my life, I lost O. I thought my mom had him, and she thought I did. Instead, he had stopped off to look at something, and got left behind. When I realized my mom didn’t have him, I flipped out. My friend S and I tore through the floor we were on, me in tears and in a total panic, found an employee, who took his details and led me to where they make announcements throughout the store, and there he was – just as panicked and hysterical as me. It was completely horrible – I just kept on praying to Jesus to let us find him, and I couldn’t stop thinking about Adam Walsh, and I am just so thankful that we found him safe and sound. I have always taken for granted that O stays right by us – usually my kids are pretty much stuck to me like glue, and he is our cautious child. Never again. I am not above using a leash if I have to.

Anyway…horrible, horrible story over – on to THE QUESTION:

Which do y’all like better –

  • Emmett Riggan Hoang (insert one syllable last name starting with an H here), or
  • Emmett Hoang Riggan (insert one syllable last name starting with an H here)
  • to help you out, Hoang is pronounced hwong according to the internet, and kindof like wan according to my Vietnamese friend

I only ask because – wait for it – WE HAVE AN OFFICIAL REFERRAL! (insert wild screams of joy here)

9 Comments

Filed under adoption, life with kids

9 responses to “a question

  1. WOW!!!! Congratultions!!!

  2. Beth

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you! Now….when will you be getting him?

  3. How incredibly scary!!!!!!! I am glad you found O quickly. Congrats on the referral. I cannot believe it. (saying it like The Little Einsteins)

  4. Yay! Yay! Yay yay yay yay!!!!!!!!! Congratulations! And, only because you asked, I like Emmett Riggan Hoang better. I really, really, really like the name Emmett. You know, since he’s one of the Twilight vampires and all. I am so pathetic, but the new book comes out this weekend, so I can’t help myself right now. But enough about me. Congratulations!!!!!!!!! To You!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Jennifer

    YEAH!!!! Congratulations on the referral!!! How exciting. 🙂

    How horribly frightened you must have been when O was lost. That’s one of my biggest fears now with the ages my kids are. It’s strange how what you fear most changes as they grow. I’m sure those 10 minutes felt like an eternity.

    As for the name, I like Emmett Riggan Hoang H… best. I kinda like the two H sounds together at the end vs. separated with Riggan in between. And I really do like the name Emmett.

    Any clue at all how long til you can get your hands on this new little one??

  6. yea…whoohoo…congratulations!!! i am so excited for you guys!! i can’t wait to hear more details!!

    personally, i like emmett riggan hoang the best! keep us posted on the final decision!

    i am so happy for you guys! hopefully, this I-600 will make it to vietnam so that the next round of waiting can begin!!

    yea!!

  7. Jaimie

    Congratulations on your baby boy! That’s wonderful! Hopefully you don’t have to wait too long before travel.

    I’m so glad you found O and he was safe. What a scary experience.

  8. Christina

    Ok, first, so glad you found your son and I can only imagine how freaked I would have been.

    And second, CONGRATULATIONS!!! What wonderful news! I can’t wait to hear more about him. And since you’re taking votes, I like #2 Emmett Hoang Riggan. (cool names, btw!)

  9. ohmigosh! congratulations!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

