Goodbye Mr P.

Parks and Ernie

Well, the day we’ve been dreading for awhile arrived last Saturday.  Our oldest and best dog passed away in his sleep after a long and good life.  Parks was always a fine animal, and was a fine example of how well a dog could fit into the human world.  I didn’t know him in his youth, but I’ve heard he was a wild and crazy teenager during his undergraduate years.  When I first met my wife, Parks was already a fixture in her life and I knew I would have to get the nod from him before I could proceed with a relationship.  Fortunately for me, he has always been a friendly sort, as you can see from the picture (even our cat Ernie liked him, and Ern doesn’t really like anybody).

Parks will be missed by our family, and I hope all of you out there have the opportunity to be blessed by a pet the way that we were with him.  I will carry many fond memories of him with me, from the way he wagged his tail against everything like a deadly weapon to the way he would ‘speak’ to you when he wanted you to get off his spot on the couch.  My favorite picture in my mind is of him with my wife and I on our honeymoon, walking in the Smokey Mountains.  He was a fixture in our lives, and will be missed.

9 Comments

Filed under our four-legged family, posts with pics

9 responses to “Goodbye Mr P.

  1. lauren

    Thanks for doing this one, babe. I don’t think I could have gotten through it.

  2. TX Cajun

    Sorry for the lose of your great dog. We lost Pepper; our version of “the best dog ever” about 1 1/2 years ago. She was 14 and I got her in college. I thought I was going to have to get rid of her in her first 6 months b/c she was the hardest dog to house break. But she turned out to be the best dog I have ever had. She even looked a bit like Parks. So, in reading your post it brought me back. Again, I am so sorry for your lose.
    Christy

  3. Jennifer

    Oh guys! I am so sorry.

  4. This made me cry! Hugs to Riggie. I will have to tell Mark and Marty. They have always been so happy that Parks was having such a great life. I love our Chloe so much. Can’t imagine a day without her. I am so sorry for you all.

  5. Beth

    I’m so sorry Parks passed away. He was a sweetheart. My heart goes out to you because I know how hard it is to lose a beloved pet.
    Reading that made me cry for you Lauren, because I knew you had hubby write it because it was too hard for you to do it. I’m sending you lots of love and hugs!

  6. Jeannie

    OK it has taken me this long to be able to post without losing it. I have no words. Best.Dog.Ever. Ren, you know my heart is breaking right along with yours.

  7. Michelle

    Lauren, I can’t even express how sorry I am. Everyone who met Parks loved him, and you gave him the best life a dog could ask for. You’re in my thoughts.

  8. I’m so sorry. I’m happy he passed on in his sleep, though, in his familiar surroundings and with the family he loved.

  9. Wow, I’m so sorry. I’m glad his passing was easy for him and that you didn’t have to make any difficult decisions. I worry about that with our two older dogs. I hope, when the time comes, they can go like Parks did — though I hate to think about the time ever coming. Pets really are members of the family, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

