back to the music

I know its Tuesday, and I meant to write this yesterday, but I’m bringing back the music Mondays. It’ll be a little different though, because this will be music-i-love-mondays. So not necessarily new music, or Brit pop, but more just music I love.

Today’s song just makes me happy. The video is dumb, don’t bother watching, but the song rocks, and this group is one of my favorites.

Here’s Barenaked Ladies with If I Had A Million Dollars. Its the live version, ’cause I always get a kick out of the audience singing.

See? Doesn’t it just put a smile on your face? I’ll take what I can get these days.

I just wanted to say thank you so much for all the kind comments I got about the last post. Things are better here, as the kids are feeling better, and that brings my anxiety and frustration level WAY down, but the other issues remain issues. I appreciate the drugs idea (Jennifer), and am pretty much ready to try them, but I want to wait until my mental health check for the new job is done.

Yeah, did I post about that already? For my job at the vet clinic, I have to have a security clearance, a base police clearance, and a mental health check. Which involves what, I’m not sure. They have permission to go through my medical records, and I think that’ll be fine, but if they look in the kids’ records, I’m sure they have CRAZY LADY red stickers all over them. So while I’ve already accepted their offer of the job, this mental health check thing is sure taking a long time :). And sheesh, all I’ve ever had to do before as a veterinarian is hand someone my resume and references – all these clearances are a pain in my patootie. And the thing is, I’m pretty sure my anxiety problem actually helps my patients in a work setting. They get the best I have to give, ’cause otherwise I can’t sleep for the worrying. Anyhow, we’ll see how it all turns out. And as soon as (or rather, IF) they give me that clearance, I’ll be making an appointment with the mental health clinic for some happy pills post haste.

Let’s see, what else…in adoption news, I got nada to share. We are just hoping and praying that God would send a child our way. We’ve now been actively working on this adoption from Vietnam for over a year (not counting the researching months), and again, it just feels like it’ll never happen. I can’t even imagine the state I’d be in if we didn’t have children already. We are really super blessed with our boys.

Speaking of which, Y turns 2 YEARS OLD on Thursday! I can’t even believe he’s been on this earth for almost 2 years. We still haven’t decided if we’re doing anything or not. He doesn’t really have any friends, and I don’t want to invite a bunch of people to come to his party just so we can say he had a party. And I especially don’t want our not-really-friends to buy him presents. So the only thing decided so far is that there will be a Diego cake. From us, present-wise, he picked out a toy vacuum cleaner back in America, and we decided that it counted as his birthday present, especially since I think this will be the last year he doesn’t realize that birthdays go along with presents. Ugghh. This whole party or not party decision is what set off the pity party about us not having a group of good friends here. And at this point, if we do decide to go the party route, it’ll have to wait for a couple of weeks, ’cause you can’t just invite a bunch of people over for a birthday party with 2 days notice, can you? I feel so bad for Y, because O had rockin 1st and 2nd birthday parties, and Y has had…nothing, just because I don’t have a lot of friends (because really, what 1 or 2 year old has a lot of friends – the mamas and daddies have the friends, right?). Okay…this is bumming me out, I don’t want to think about it anymore.

I’m gonna go listen to some more Barenaked Ladies.

Leave a comment

Filed under adoption, life with kids, music mondays

Leave a Reply

