in a slump

Hey y’all…sorry I haven’t posted in a while, I just, well, haven’t had anything really positive to say. I’m just in a slump, I think. Here’s what’s been going on here:

  • Y has been under the weather for almost a week, and so I’ve been worried (read CRAZY WORRIED AS USUAL about him)
  • and now O is sounding congested and hoarse (again with the worried, not at the crazy point yet, but give it time)
  • and the weather’s crappy (read rainy and cold with bursts of daily hail)
  • and the bible study we are a part of is ending because the teachers/hosts have something better to do on Sunday evenings
  • and the bible studies at the church we go to all start at 7:30 in the evening, with no childcare
  • and the adoption is going less than nowhere (oohhh, a whole post by itself)
  • and its hard to make new friends when I’m in such a fraptastic mood all of the time
  • aaannnddd, that’s about it. How pathetic am I?

I should have known this was coming, this…grumpiness. We had a great time in America, enjoyed wonderful weather pretty much the whole time, did lots of shopping, eating at good restaurants, spent time with friends and family, as well as Hunky. Now, here we are, back in the land which I try really hard not to hate, and even harder not to complain about. Where the food is bad, the weather is worse, and the exchange rate is terrible.

Ughhh. I don’t even know how to put it – I feel so guilty for not liking it here, because it is an amazing opportunity and so many people want to come here, and lots of people I know really enjoy it here, and because I really feel like I should bloom where I’m planted. And because nothing matters as much as our little family sticking together. The bottom line is that Hunky could be stationed at the North Pole, and we’d follow him because being with him is a million times better than being without him. And it goes without saying that where we live means nothing compared to the health of our children, and I told God last year that I would try really really hard to not dwell on not liking it here, and dwell instead on more important things, like loving others and the like.

The bottom line is that this place isn’t bad at all…it’s just not me. I wear flip-flops, t-shirts and jeans. I love the sun, and the summer. I love to be outside, as long as its warm. I love, love, love the beach, and boat drinks. One of my favorite singers is Jimmy Buffett. I just feel out of my element here, but don’t want to live my life complaining to people here about how much I want to move back to Florida, because who wants to hear that, especially if you are one of the people who wanted to come here, and actually love it? So instead I just kind of go into a funk, and that’s where I am right now.

A big ball of funkified stress.

Any suggestions for how to get out of it?

We did try to go somewhere this weekend – we went to the Science Museum in London, which was really cool, and which we all would have enjoyed more if Y hadn’t thrown up twice (on me) while we were there.

I think maybe the best I can do is to hold on till the end of May, when Hunky will be back from a 2-3 week TDY he’ll be leaving on in a couple of weeks, my mom will get here, the weather will be better (umm, hopefully?), and we will be able to travel a little around Europe. In the meantime, I’ll be trying to not complain, or to worry, and to try try try to not be SO FRAPPIN GRUMPY.

9 Comments

Filed under general living

9 responses to “in a slump

  1. Jennifer

    Ok. How to get out of a funk?

    Drugs.

    Seriously.

    I mean, the legal kind and all. But a good dose of Wellbutrin does wonders for the mood.

  2. Christy

    Sorry to hear about the funk. I would give it time for everyone to get well and get back into your routine. Just take solace in this too shall pass.

  3. Sorry about the frappin’ slump. No suggestions, but maybe the new job will help…different kind of brain stimulation, new people, etc? When does that begin?

  4. Jeannie

    Aww, Ren, I was wondering if that was the reason you hadn’t posted. I had a sneakin suspicion.

    Cold/rainy weather affects my mood big time especially if it goes on too long. We’ve had an especially cold and yucky spring so far, and it is making me grumpy as all hell. So…I can’t even imagine what you are dealing with there. All I can say that is encouraging is that it isn’t toooo much longer. That, and I love and miss you big time.

    I’m sorry to hear about all the other yucky stuff as well — I hope the boys feel better soon. But hey, after the trip you had getting back to England, you guys can survive anything.

  5. Helllloooo, of course your new friends aren’t as good as us, as cool, as wonderful, as beautiful…ok, I should stop now. 🙂 Maybe you could try that trick they do at the dentist/OBGYN offices and put up pictures of tropical places to take your mind off things. hehe

  6. Christina

    I hear you on the wet and grey – I think Seattle is the US equivalent of London. And it’s hard to be cheerful when you are homesick and miss your friends. Try to find things that are little treats – like for me I make time to have a cup of tea and read blogs for at least 15 minutes each day – it’s like a little escape and somehow feels ‘right’ when it’s so grey and wet outside. Or cuddling on the couch under the blankets with your kids, watching a movie. And one last idea… what if you ask God each morning to surprise you that day – to show Himself to you or how He is working in your life… maybe that will help you to see the purpose in being there, and perhaps find more joy in the journey.

  7. Beth

    Christina is right. Seattle is the US equivalent to England. And I survived there for two years! It was tough. Wanna know what helped me?? I put five or six of my favorite Jimmy Buffett CDs in my car, and I would listen to them all winter long. Anytime it rained, was cold, etc., I was having a tropical fun fest in my car. 🙂
    I’m right there with you on the “making new friends” thing. I know I’m only a couple of towns away from Navarre, but I’ve had a hard time making friends in Destin. None of them are as good as my Navarre ladies. And now I’m getting even sadder as all of them move away. You were the first to leave, and now more are leaving! What am I going to do when all of you are gone? Did you hear that Missy P is going to England?
    Miss you! But keep your chin up. You’ll find some women to connect with.

  8. i am sorry you are going through such a rough time. i can’t even imagine being so far away from everything i know…and i am sure adoption stuff does not help at all right now.

    hope you things are looking up for you since you posted this 🙂

  9. Liz

    I have a friend that just moved from London after being there with her husband’s job and she felt the exact same way while she was there. Just in the dumps over friends, the dreary weather, everything being so expensive, etc. It was a really hard 3 years for her. You are not alone feeling out of sorts as a transplanted Southerner who is used to sunshine and flip flops. I don’t know how close you are to London but she did meet a lot of people thru the American Women’s Club there in the city. There were more girls there her age who were also feeling stuck than she anticipated. Who knows, maybe you’ll make one good friend. Just one good friend makes a world of difference.

    Hope the sun comes out soon and cheers you up!

Leave a Reply

