brrrr and lady spiderman

So the last few weeks we have been having gorgeous weather – temps in the high 60’s or low 70’s during the day and in the 40’s at night. Blue skies, sunshine, etc. I was telling Hunky just last week that its a good thing that its so nice outside, since I just joined a fitness club with our base’s officer’s spouses group…since a bunch of us have kids too young for school and the gyms both on base and on the economy either don’t have childcare, or don’t have affordable childcare (we’re talking $10/day plus the $1000/yearly membership fee for the only gym around that has childcare…for 1 hour/day…oh, but I’m not bitter about it…right), we get together and either walk or jog on the track on base MWF. Those who know me well know that I love to exercise, but running outside is not my thing (my thing being running on a treadmill or elliptical machine while watching VH1). But I’m hoping to make it a habit before it gets nasty outside here, ’cause apparently the gym thing is just not going to happen while we’re here in not-so-child-friendly England.

Anyway, the point: I was just telling Hunky about how the weather has been so nice, and then it got downright CHILLY several days ago. Now I love fall – the crisp air, the changing leaves, the jackets. But today I had to break out the winter hats for our fitness group – not so great for the middle of September. They’re predicting a harsh winter for us this year – I really wish we could spend January in Vietnam :).

And O has his first imaginary friend. Her name is Lady Spiderman. Yesterday he told me that Lady Spiderman’s mama was going to make cupcakes and brownies for Lady Spiderman, and wasn’t she such a nice mama? How nice can this mama be when she lets her daughter spend every night over at a boy’s house, I ask you? Hmmph. My son already knows he has the meanest mama in the world, so I think he wasn’t too surprised when I didn’t volunteer to make cupcakes too.

As a side note: can you guess how happy my conservative, kinda-macho Hunky is about the fact that his oldest son’s imaginary friend is a girl? He thinks he needs to hang out with more boys his age (his best friends have always been girls). I for one think its cool that his imaginary friend is a superhero like him.

5 Comments

Filed under life in england, life with kids

5 responses to “brrrr and lady spiderman

  1. Beth

    How cute! Lady Spiderman…

    Little man wants to be Spiderman for Halloween. He’s actually requested that costume consistently for a couple of weeks now, so I guess I’ll go out and buy the darn costume.

    We had a speech eval done on little man. Everything is fine, thank goodness. He’s a bit low on a couple of things, but mostly normal.
    He definitely has no imaginary friends. But he does want to name the new baby Donald Duck. Ha!

  2. Where can I get a Lady Spiderman? I want some brownies and cupcakes, please.

  3. LOL about Lady spiderman–you have to give the kid some credit on the cupcake thing!

  4. Jeannie

    O is one bright kid, working on you on the cupcake angle. I love Lady Spiderman — that is just awesome.

    Sorry I’ve been MIA — I’ve been reading your blog but haven’t had time to post. This working thing is kicking my butt!

    I’m really glad to hear your adoption process is moving along, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you guys.

    I, for one, wish you could spend the winter here in VA! It will be cold but not that cold.

    Miss you tons,
    JJ

  5. Wow – Lady Spiderman’s mama is AWESOME! Your son sounds hysterical.

Leave a Reply

