a wicked weekend update

Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days – we’re down to mom’s last few days in England, so we’re trying to cram as much in as possible. Yesterday we went to London to see Wicked. It. Was. Awesome! This sounds blasphemous (sp?) to my own ears even, but I think I liked it better than the book. Of course, its been a few years since I’ve read it, but I remember it being rather dark, while the play was more lighthearted. And I’m a sucker for happy endings. And I could definitely become addicted to going to see shows – I’m also a sucker for almost any play. It was also nice to spend the day with my mom without the kids (Hunky took them to an airshow, bless him), something neither of us can remember doing since maybe before O was born.

What else…on Thursday night Hunky and I went on a date, in which we went to eat sushi. I love sushi, and I haven’t had any since we moved here (maybe once when we went to America last winter). Japanese food isn’t really big over here, although there are Chinese restaurants everywhere, as well as a truckload of Indian places. But there is one Japanese restaurant in Cambridge, so Hunky and I made the trek over there and ate lots and lots of sushi rolls, which are quite possible my favorite food. I have really been missing America lately, which includes food available in America, which includes sushi from Publix (as well as many, many other Publix products), so this sushi fix helped. If it wasn’t so expensive, I’d be dragging the Hunk and kids there once or twice a week.

We also had O’s birthday party on Friday night, but that’ll have to wait for another post, when I’ve uploaded the pictures. It was just a small thing, we went bowling with our closest friends here, but O had a good time. O did have a major meltdown the day before the party when he found out his friends from America weren’t coming. He still misses G and L and D, if you mamas are reading this, and can’t understand why you wouldn’t buy $1000 plane tickets for you and your children so you could come bowling with us. I miss ya’ll big time too, although most of the time, I try to not throw myself on the floor kicking and screaming about it. Inexplicably (only because they have never been to any birthday party O has had), he was also upset because his cousins weren’t going to attend the party either. So if any of Hunky’s brothers are reading this, O really really wants to see your kids. Of course we want to see you too!

I think that’s about it, but I did add the link for the superhero capes under great stuff on the right. If it doesn’t work, you can go to Etsy.com and search for superhero capes. The personalized ones are $11, and O has gotten his money’s worth already.

Leave a comment

Filed under life in england, life with kids

Leave a Reply

